Nepal Women

APF Women complete the hattrick of Lalitpur Mayor Women’s championship title

Armed Police Force (APF) Club has won the Lalitpur Mayor Women’s T20 Championship for the third time in a row. Sita Rana Magar’s side defeated Rubina Chhetri-led Koshi Province by 54 runs on Thursday at TU Cricket Ground.

APF were the winner of the previous two seasons defeating Sudurpaschim Women’s by eight wickets on both occasions. APF Club will receive the cash prize of Two Lakhs while runner-up Koshi will be rewarded One Lakh Nrs.

Sita Rana Magar and Indu Barma
Sita Rana Magar and Indu Barma hit half-centuries as APF Women posted 154 runs in the final of the Lalitpur Mayor’s Cup 2023. Photo: CAN

Invited to bat first, APF piled up 154/1 in the allotted 20 overs after a record partnership from skipper Sita and Indu Berma. After the departure of Jyoti Pandey, while the score was 18, The star duo then shared unbeaten 136 runs, with both scoring a fifty. Sita smacked 68-ball 79, whereas Indu scored 51 runs from 41 balls.

In response, Koshi were restricted to 100/6 after the 20 overs. Skipper Rubina scored 35 runs from 41 balls while Lakita Rajbanshi scored run a ball 21*. For APF, Binu Budha was the pick of a bowler, grabbing two wickets. Sonu Khadka, Nary Thapa and Rekha Rawal also grabbed one wicket each.

APF women’s team celebrate after winning the Lalitpur Mayor Women’s title 2023.

Rubina Chhetri scoring 139 runs, was adjudged the best batter of the tournament. Nisha Shah of Koshi, who picked up six wickets, received the best bowlers award. Similarly, Sita Rana Magar scored 214 runs and picked up eight wickets and was adjudged player of the tournament. She was the player of the series in the previous edition too.