Army Club continues their winning streak

Kathmandu – Newly Entrants Tribhuvan Army Club(TAC) continued their winning streak after defeating Region-3 Kathmandu by 10 wickets at Tribhuvan University, Kathmandu.

View the Scorecard

(Match Summary – Nepal Army 84/0 (10.2 Overs) defeated Region 3 81/10 (18.5 Overs) by 10 wickets)

TAC invited Kathmandu to bat first after winning the toss at the Tribhuvan University Ground, Kiritpur. Sadly, Kathmandu were bowled out for just 81 runs in 18.5 overs. Opener Pawan Shrestha scored 19 runs while Bivatsu Thapa and Suraj KC scored 19 and 17 runs respectively. Som Pal Thapa was caught of Lokendra Chand’s bowling, he went for naught. Rahul Vishwakarma (3-11) was pick of the bowler for TAC as he took three wickets with controlled line and length.  Along with him, Lokendra Chand managed three wickets for 16 runs. Rupesh Shrivastav(2-18)  & Chandra Sawad(1-14) were other bowler who dismissed Kathmandu for 81 runs in 18.5 overs.

Chasing a dismal target, TAC trounced Kathmandu by 10 wickets to win their fourth game in the group stage. Their openers Sagar Pun (37 off 32 balls, 4 fours, 1 six) and Anil Mandal (32 off 32 balls, 3 fours, 1 six) thrashed Kathmandu in just 10.2 overs. Lokendra Chand (TAC) was adjudged Man of the Match for his brilliant bowling performance.

Army Club will now face Region -2 Birgunj on October 3 at TU Ground.

Region No. 1 (Biratnagar) Vs Region No. 8 (Pokhara)

View Scorecard

(Match Summary – Region-1 131/6 (20.0 Overs) defeated Region-8 112/6 (20.0 Overs) by 19 runs)

Region No. 1 Biratnagar signed off the National Twenty20 tournament with a consolation win against Region-8 Pokhara by 19 runs. Pokhara won the toss and invited Biratnagar to bat first at Engineering Ground, Pulchowk today.

Wicketkeeper batsman Sunny Pun continues his good form and scored 57 balls 51 runs to pile 131/6 in 20 overs. Allrounder Mehboob Alam striked with 22 runs off 11 balls with 2 sixes and a four while skipper Puspha Thapa & Manjeet Shrestha contributed 17 runs & 16 runs respectively. Dipesh Khatri  took 3 wickets from his two overs giving 18 runs while Sunil Kandel took 2 wickets.

During the chase, Pokhara needed a solid start but their openers failed quickly so as their top orders. Biratnagar bowlers restricted them to 18-4 at 6.4 overs and since then the target looked stiff for them.

Though, Dipesh Khatri (55 runs off 43 runs, 5 fours, 2 sixes) tried to put some fight together with Rijan Prajoo (35) but wicket failed regularly and they were restricted to 112/6 in their 20 overs.

Sunny Pun was awarded with the Man of the Match.

Tomorrow’s Match:

1st Semifinal: Tribhuvan Army Club Vs R-2 (Birgunj), T.U ground at 09:00 AM
2nd Semifinal: APF Club Vs R-3 (Kathmandu), T.U Ground at 1:00 PM