Australia win the 2023 Cricket World Cup defeating India 

Australia has won the title of ICC Cricket World Cup 2023. They grabbed the sixth ODI World Cup title defeating hosts India by six wickets in the final match at Narendra Modi Cricket Stadium.

Australia previously won the mega event in 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007 and 2015. Pat Cummins’ side lost the tournament’s first two matches but bounced back perfectly to win the trophy.

Following a target of 241 runs, Australia completed the chase in 43 overs losing four wickets. Travis Head was the star of the chase with a brilliant century, silencing a jam-packed stadium filled with home supporters.

Australia were three wickets down for 47 runs after the seventh overs after losing David Warner, Mitchell Marsh and Steven Smith. Head and Marnus Labuschagne then shared a match-winning partnership of 192 runs to win it for the Aussies.

Head departed in the 43rd over after doing the damage. He scored 137 runs from 120 balls with 15 fours and four sixes. Labuschagne scored an unbeaten 58 runs from 110 balls. Glenn Maxwell scored the winning runs for Australia in 43rd over.

Travis Head: World Cup-final centurion, India vs Australia, Men's ODI World Cup final, Ahmedabad, November 19, 2023

Earlier in the first innings, India managed to score 240 runs before losing the last wicket in the final ball of the inning. Rohit Sharma yielded a fiery start despite the early departure of Shubmann Gill. India were 80/2 after the end of the powerplay losing Rohit for 31-ball 47.

Virat Kohli and KL Rahul scored a half-century however that was not enough to power India to a big total. Kohli scored 63-ball 54 whereas Rahul scored 66 runs from 107 balls. No other players could make a big contribution.

For Australia, Mitchell Starc picked up three wickets. Josh Hazlewood and Pat Cummins also pocketed two wickets each.