National, Nepal Women

Baitadi and Nepalgunj enter into the semis

Baitadi and Nepalgunj secured their semifinal berths of the ongoing Women´s U-19 National Cricket Tournament on Kathmandu.

At IOE Ground, Baitadi defeated Birgunj by 29 runs Winning the toss, Baitadi elected to bat first and scored 105 runs for 9 wickets in alloted 20 overs.

Puja Bhatta, the player of the match scored 29 runs off 40 balls. Draupadi Kunwar scored 23 off 33 balls. Puja Giri grabbed three wickets while Subhadra Adhikari, Nirmala Pakuwal and Rojina Aryal shared two wickets each for Birgunj.

In reply, Birgunj could manage to score only 76 runs in the allotted 20 overs with the loss of seven wickets. Manisha Chaulagain top scored with 24 runs off 33 balls. Sonu Khadka, Anjali Chand and Roshani Chand grabbed two wickets each for the winning side.

In the second match at IOE Ground, Janakpur defeated Biratnagar by 6 wickets. Player-of-the-match Kabita Gautam grabbed three wickets to help Janakpur restrict Biratnagar to the score of 69 runs off 18.1 overs. Santoshi Chaudhary grabbed 2 wickets while Kritu Dahal and Mamta Chaudhary each claimed a wicket. Samjhana Budhathoki scored 18 runs for Biratnagar while Sabina Shrestha, Rubina Chhetri and Roshana Rai each added 14, 10 and 4 runs respectively. In chasing the target, Usha Bhujel and Saraswoti Chaudhary each made 18 runs. Mamta Chaudhary remained not out at 9 runs while Anuradha Chaudhary went out at 7.

In the first match held at the TU Cricket Ground, Bhairahawa outplayed Pokhara by 55 runs. Batting first, Bhairahawa scored 120 losing only one wicket. Pratikshya Basyal was not out in 49 runs off 52 balls while player-of-the-match Indu Barma scored unbeaten quick-fire 27 runs off 15 balls.

In reply, Pokhara could manage to score 65 runs in 18.2 overs. Trishna Devkota scored 12 runs off 35 balls. Soniya Poudel, Pooja Pandey and Indu Berma shared two wickets each.

In another match played at the TU Cricket Ground, Nepalgunj ended the defending champions Kathmandu’s hope by defeateing them by 51 runs. Batting first, Nepalgunj scored 101 runs losing seven wickets. Player-of-the-match Samana Pun scored 27 runs off 39 balls and also grabbed two wickets. Ashmita Thapa remained not out in 19 runs. Shilu Rijal and Shraddha Aryal grabbed three wickets each for Kathmandu.

Chasing the target of 102 runs, Kathmandu could manage to score only 50 runs off 15.2 overs. Sangita Gauchan was the highest scorer with 14 runs off 33 balls. Kamala BC grabbed two wickets while Mamata Chaudhary and Samjhana Sharma took a wicket each.

Region Number 7, Janakpur will take on Region Number 5, Nepalgunj while Region Number 4 Bhairahawa will play against Region Number 6, Baitadi on tomorrow at the semi finals. Both of the matches will be played at TU Ground, Kirtipur.