Baitadi wins the title of U-16 National Cricket Tournament

Latest news

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Region Number VI Baitadi defeated Region Number IV Bhairahawa by six wickets to clinch the title of the U-16 National Cricket Tournament at Tribuwan University Ground, Kirtipur on Thursday.

Winning the toss, Bhairahawa opted to bat first and scored a low total of 136 runs losing nine wickets in 40 overs. In reply, Baitadi chased the target in 28.3 overs losing only four wickets.

For Bhairahawa, Iklakh Ahmed top scored with 43 runs off 69 deliveries with six fours. Prithvi C Chhetri(19), Rahul Bhattarai(17), Bishal Sunuwar(13) and Parvez Alam(12) were the other batsman to contribute the double figure score. 18 runs were added as extras though.

Bhim Sarki, Jagdish Chand, Bikash Bam and Deependra Chand grabbed two wickets each for Bhairahawa while Manoj Chand picked up a wicket.

In Baitadi’s chase, Deependra Chand who shared a 58 runs partnership with Tekendra Mal scored 35 runs off 53 balls with five fours. Mal added an equal runs from 52 balls that included three fours. Jagdish Chand remained unbeaten at 18 runs while Bhim Sarki remained not out at 12 runs. Chand had two sixes in his play. Puran Bahadur Singh also added a 11 runs on board. 21 extras were given to the winning side from the Bhairahawa’s bowlers.

Iklakh Ahmed picked up two wickets while Parvez Alam and Rahul Bhattarai shared a scal each for Bhairahawa.

Deependra Chand from Baitadi was adjudged as the player of the match.

Aquib Ali Ansari from the former champion Region Number II Birgunj was awarded as the best batsma, Bhim Sarki from Baitadi won the best bowler award while Iklakh Ahmed from Bhairahawa was adjudged as the player of the series. Winners Baitadi bagged away cash prize of Rs. 15,000 with trophy and certificates while runners up Bhairahawa pocketed Rs. 10,000 along with the trophy and certificates.

Best batsman, best bowler, player of the final were awared with the two years scholarship for +2 program in Ideal English H.S School. Player of the tournament also got the scholarship along with a speacial prize that included a bat and a pair of pad from Planet D’Sports.

Prizes were given by Guest Sriniwas Rana (Vice President of CAN), Ashok Nath Pyakuryal (General Secretary of CAN), Thakur Prasad Pahadi (Secretary of CAN), Uttam Karmacharya (Secretary of CAN), Basant Raj Satyal (Member of CAN), Kiran Rana (Member of CAN), Sunil Amatya (Member of CAN), Dharma Sundar Bajracharya (Member of CAN), Amit Bir Pandey (Member of CAN), Kiran Rana (Member of CAN), Niranjan Rajbanshi (President of Nepal Sports Journalist Forum).

- Advertisement -

Related news

- Advertisement -