Baluwatar Crowned Kathmandu Champions

Latest news

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Cricnepal/ Kathmandu: Baluwatar Cricket Club defeated Mabavir Cricket Club by 83 runs in the final of the Kathmandu District senior men selection tournament, played today at Tribhuwan University International Cricket Ground

Winning the toss and batting first Baluwatar Cricket Club displayed impressive batting riding on half centuries from operner Indra Kamal Manandhar and Captain Suman Uday. Baluwatar posted 242 runs in the allocated 40 overs. Mahabir Captain, Prafulla Vaidya and Kalam Ali picked up two wickets a piece.

Baluwatar openers gave them a decent start, scoring at rate of 5 runs an over the opening pair of Rabin Joshi and Indra Kamal Manandar added 67 runs runs together before Prafulla Vaidya got Rabin Joshi stumped for 23 in fifth ball of fourteenth over. Captain Suman Uday came into bat at number three, Manandhar and Suman added a steady 61 runs for the second wicket. Prafull Vaidya eventually got rid of Manandhar, stumped for 67 runs of 70 balls.

The next two wickets fell shortly as Mahabir tried to make their way into the game, both wickets foing to Kalam Ali. Rikesh Lama was the first one to fall for 10 at score of 157 in the first ball of 31st over to Kalam Ali. Kalam Ali got Maheshowar Shrestha in the same over for 3.

Prakash Bista walked in as the next batsmen.Mahabir’s hope of come back was shattered when Prakash Bista and Suman Uday added an unbeaten 85 runs of 9.2 overs. Uday remainded not out on 92 of 92 balls while Prakash made 37  n.o. of  27 balls.

In reply Mahabir needing to score just over 6 runs an over were knocked over for 159 on the 36th over. Opener Sandeep Shrestha made a half century for Mahavir. Bijay gautam picked up  three wickets for Baluwatar while Indra Kamal manandhar and Rupesh Singh picked up two wickets a piece. Rikesh lama and Suman Uday got into the wicket takers list picking up a wicket a piece as well.

Opening pair of Sandeep and Bhibuti added only 12 runs, the partnership broken when Ritesh Singh got rid of Bhibuti. The second wicket added 69 runs for Mahabir and when Nazir Seikh was out to Bijay Gautam for 81 in fifteenth over  Mahabir’s inning started to crash. Bijay got rid of Sandeep Shrestha, who made a fighting 54 if 66 balls in 19th over.

Mahabir constantly lost wickets then and never were allowed to recover. They lost 4th wicket for 124, kalam Ali trapped lbw  by Rikesh Lama. The fifth wicket fell a run and 4 balls later Pritam Shrestha gone for a naught to Bijay Gautam. mahabir captain Prafulla Vaidya was next to follow caught by Rikesh Lama of the bowling of Indra Kamal Manandhar, for 13. the 7th, 8th,  and 9th  wickets fell two runs later Rohit Sharma and Rahul Bansal gone without troubling the scorers. Monir Kumar Sherstha made 30 runs of 51 balls, before falling to Indra manandhar as the 9th wicket. The final wicket added 12 runs for Mahabir.  Ritesh Singh got rid of Prajesh Bhadur Singh, the last man to hand Balauwatar an impressive victory and the tournament.

The winning team  and runner’s up were handed Trophies and Certificates.The winning team also took along Rs.10000 cash prize while the runner up bagged Rs. 5000.

Mahabir’s Nazir ‘ Seikh  was declared the batsmen of the tournament. He scored 155 runs in 3 matches he played including one century. Baluwatar’s Bijay Gautam was announced the best bowler. He took 9 wickets in 3 matches his played at an impressive average of 5.33 and strike rate of 16.  Performances only up to the semi finals were tallied for the best batsmen and bowler awards while player of the tournament was decided taking in account all the matches including the final

Baluwatar’s Indra Kamal  Manandhar was awared the player of the series award.  He had a fantastic tournament with 191 runs of bat at an average of 63 runs including 2 fifties, and 7 wickets in the tournament at hard to better average and strikes rate rof 3.7 and s 6.8 respectively. He bowled at a imperessive economy of 3.25 runs per over.


- Advertisement -

Related news

- Advertisement -