Bhairahawa and Janakpur enter semis

Latest news

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -


Bhairahawa defeated Nepalgunj by 46 runs and Janakpur defeated Birgunj by 45 runs to confirm the place in the semifinal of the Women´s U-19 National Cricket Tournament.

At IOE, batting first, Bhairahawa made a total of 125 runs for 9 wicket. Pratikshya Basyal topscored with 29 in 42 balls while Berma added 28 off just 20 balls that included five fours. Mamata Chaudhary and Anu KC got three wickets each for Nepalgunj.

In reply, Nepalgunj were bowled out for 79 runs. in 13.4 overs. Indu claimed four wickets for 17 runs for Bhairahawa.

In another match Kathmandu defeated Pokhara by 78 runs.

Batting first, Kathmandu scored 128 for two with Sangita Gauchan and Captain Shradda Aryal topscoring for the team. Gauchan remained unbeaten on 38 off 44 balls while Aryal got 36 off 43 balls.

Player of the match Shilu Rijal, who scored 13 runs, then grabbed 4 wickets for 10 runs while Karuna Lama grabbed 3 wickets for 7 runs to bowl out Pokhara for 50 runs in 13.4 overs.

On TU Ground, Janakpur outplayed Birgunj to move to the semifinals. Batting first, Janakpur scored 120 for five wickets with Anuradha Chaudhary and Shanti Chaudhary getting runs for the team. Player of the match Anuradha scored 45 off 50 balls and Shanti got 38 off 41.

Birgunj were bowled out for 75 in last over. Preety Thapa (18 off 25 balls) was the top scorer. Laxmi Chaudhary led the bowling with three for 15.

In another match, Baitadi handed over Biratnagar their second defeat registering a 12-run victory. Batting first, Baitadi scored 95 for five wickets with player of the match Dropati Kunwar scoring 44 runs of 60 balls and Manisha Sodari getting 21.

Rubina Chhetri bowled well to claim four wickets giving away just six runs in 4 overs.

Sabina Shrestha got 35 off 55 balls for Biratnagar but no other batswoman contributed for the total as the team was restricted to 83 for nine wickets.

- Advertisement -

Related news

- Advertisement -