National, Nepal Women

Bhairahawa defeats the defending champion Kathmandu

Bhairahawa, Nepalgunj, Birgunj and Janakpur registered win in the opening day of the Women’s Under-19 Twenty20 Cricket Tournament.

Region number 4, Bhairahawa defeated region number 3, Kathamandu by 37 runs at the TU Cricket Ground. Batting first, Bhairahawa scored 117 for 7 in 20 overs. Indu Berma scored 33 not out off 36 balls with four boundaries to become the top scorer of the winning team. Praikshya Bashyal and Aksha Gurung each scored 13 runs. For Kathmandu, Kamala Rai grabbed 4 wickets conceding only 13 runs. Shilu Rijal, Sumina Maharjan and Shraddha Aryal each grabbed a wicket.

In reply, Kathmandu were bowled out at the score of 80 runs in 19.4 overs. Sangita Gauchan scored 29 off 37 balls. Indu Berma, Aksha Gurung, Babita Giri and Saiya Gurung each took two wickets for the winning side.

In second match at the TU Ground, Nepalgunj defeated Pokhara by a huge margin of 80 runs. Batting first, Nepalgunj scored 123 for 1 in 20 overs with an influential strike from Saraswoti GM of 52 runs from 58 balls with 7 boundaries. Gita Gosai scored 23 runs and Ashmita Thapa remained not out at 19. Aarya Aryal got the only wicket for Pokhara.

In reply, Pokhara were bowled out for 43 runs in 13.1 overs. Aarati Bidari could only score 14 runs for Pokhara.
For Nepalgunj, Amrita Kasai and Samana Pun each grabbed 3 wickets. And Anu KC and Kamala BC each grabbed a wicket.

At IOE Ground, in a first match Birgunj defeated Biratnagar by 29 wickets. Batting first Birgunj scored 100 runs in 20 overs losing 7 wickets. Rachana Aryal, the player of the match remained not out at 33. Manisha Chaulagain added 20 runs. For Biratnagar, Rubina Chhetri and Sabnam Rai grabbed 3 and 2 wickets each.

Chasing the target, Biratnagar managed to score only 71 runs in 16 overs. Rubina remained highest scorer with 12 runs. For Birgunj, Puja Giri claimed 4 wickets while Pushpa Aryal got 2 wickets.

In the second match at IOE Ground, Janakpur defeated Baitadi by 8 wickets. Baitadi batting first scored 54 runs in 13.4 overs losing all wickets. Manisha Godari made 18 runs while Puja Bhatta added 14 on board. Sonu Khadka added 5 runs. For Janakpur, Anuradha Chaudhary took 3 wickets conceding only 4 runs in her 3 over spell while Kritu Dahal got 2 wickets.

In reply, Janakpur chased the target in 7.5 overs in lost of 2 wickets. Man of the match Anuradha top scored 26 runs for Janakpur. Kabita Gautam added 21 runs while other two batsman Usha Bhujel and Shanti Chaudhary went cheaply in 2 and 1 run respectively. For Baitadi, Sonu Khadka and Anjali Chand each took a wicket.

After the first day, Janakpur and Birgunj each have two points in group A and in group B, Nepalgunj and Bhairahawa have two points each.

On Thursday, Biratnagar will take on Baitadi and Pokhara will fight with Birgunj at the TU Ground while at IOE Ground, Kathmandu will play Janakpur and Nepalgunj will play against Bhairahawa.