Bhairahawa register second win

Cricnepal/Kathmandu: Region Number 4 Bhairahawa defeated Region Number 7 Janakpur by a huge margin of 141 runs during their match of the Wai Wai Under 19 National Cricket Tourament being played in Pokhara on Saturday.

Winning the toss, Bhairahawa decided to bat first and scored an average total of 205 runs in 44.4 overs. Shankar Rana(17) and Nirmal Thapa (33) provided a good start for Bhairahawa with an opening partnership of 32 runs in just 3.4 overs. Rana later was caught by Ansarul Rain. Thapa who was the second wicket to fall for Bhairahawa got caught off Rahul Singh. Sabin Shakya was the top scorer fot the team with 59 runs off 69 deliveries that included seven fours and two sixes. Prakash KC 26, Krishna Sen 12 and Ganesh Gaudel 12 were some of the major contributors for Bhairahawa.

Shushant Mandal picked up four wickets while Rahul Pratap Singh and Gopal Singh shared two wickets each. Sameer Nepal and Sashi Bhushan Mishra took a wicket each.

In reply, Bhairahawa made a tight bowling attack and restricted Janakpur to a total of 64 runs in 34.5 overs. Ansarul Rain was the top scorer for the team with 13 runs while Rajaul Mustafa 11 and Sameer Nepal 12 were the only other batsman to make a double digit score.

For Bhairahawa, Bivek Chaudhary grabbed three wickets while Devendra Somare, Eklakh Ahamad and Susan Bhari claimed two wickets each. Krishna Sen also took a wicket.

Sabin Shakya was declared the player of the match.

On Sunday’s match, host Region Number 8, Pokhara will face Region Number 2 Birgunj.

MoM Sabin Shakya being awarded by Sanjeev Koirala and Robinson Prazu, President and Treasuerer respectively of Industrial and Commercial Organization of Kaski. Photo: CAN