Bhairahawa win MG Trophy

Latest news

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Region No 4 (Bhairahawa) clinched the title of the MG Trophy National T20 Cricket Tournament defeating Region No 2 (Birgunj) by 14 runs on Saturday in Birgunj, Parsa.

Winning the toss, Bhairahawa scored 111 runs losing eight wickets in 20 overs. Bhairahawa, however, made a bad start as they lost seven wickets by the 10th over when the score was 20 on board.

Nintety-one runs partnership between Krishna Karki and Lal Bahadhur Adhikari helped the team reach the defendable score. Adhikari scored 52 runs off 37 balls including eight boundaries while Karki scored not out 26 (27).

Jata Shankar Saraf played a key role to destroy the openers of Bhairahawa. Saraf took three wickets in his four over spell conceding five runs. Binod Das grabbed two wickets for 15 runs.

In reply, Birgunj were bowled out in 97 runs off 19.2 overs for the 14-run defeat. Binod Das was able to score 34 runs off 28 balls, which was not enough to win the match. Krishna Karki grabbed three wickets for the winning team, giving away 15 runs. Bibek Chaudhary also took three wickets.

With the win, Bhairahawa bagged a purse of Rs. 100, 000 while Birgunj had to settle for Rs 50, 000.

Former national captain Binod Das, who led the Birgunj team, said they played well in the first ten overs but couldn´t maintain the pace throughout the game.

The organizers of the tournament postponed the prize distribution ceremony to mourn the demise of Nepal´s former prime minister and freedom fighter Krishna Prasad Bhattarai on Friday. The prize distribution is scheduled to be held on Monday. The best bowler, batsman and the man-of-the-series will be announced on the same day, informed the organizers.

The winners will walk away with a purse of Rs 100,000 while the runners-up will receive Rs 50,000


For live score updates and infos
Follow our facebook page

- Advertisement -

Related news

- Advertisement -