Bhairahwa makes winning start; second win for Janakpur

Cricnepal/Kathmandu: Region Number 4 Bhairahawa and Region Number 7 Janakpur registered victories on the fourth day of the ongoing Pepsi Standard Chartered National One Day Cricket Tournament.

Bhairahawa ended the winning streak of Region Number 8, Pokhara as the Amit Shrestha led Bhairahawa defeated Pokhara by six wickets. While in the another match, Region Number 5 Nepalgunj faced a eight wickets defeat on the hands of Janakpur.

Played at Engineering Ground, Pokhara won the toss and went to bat first. Thanks to player of the match Sushan Bhari’s four wickets and Sagar Pun’s three wickets that helped Bhairahawa to restrict Pokhara to a low total of 84 runs in 31.3 overs. Second wicket partnership of 34 runs was not well handled and contributed by other batsman as Pokhara kept on losing regular wickets at small intervals. Arjun Raj Adhikari scored 27 runs while Rijan Prajoo made a 66 balls-39 with two fours and equal sixes. Pokhara lost three wickets at the score of 79. Lal Bahadur Adhikari took two wickets while Moinuddin Khan grabbed the other one for Bhairahawa.

Bhairahawa, in reply made a solid start with a brisk opening partnership of 49 runs between Sagar Pun and Fajlur Rahman Khan. Pun was later caght and bowled by Rahul Kumar Vishwakarma for 26 runs while Khan added 22 runs. Antim Thapa scored 16 runs before going bowled as fourth wicket. The easy victory for Bhairahawa came in 16th over with Nischal Chaudhary remaining unbeaten at 11 runs. Vishwakarma picked up two wickets while Nischal Pandey and Pradip Kharel took one each for Pokhara.

In another match of the day, Janakpur won the toss and invited Nepalgunj to bat first at T.U. Ground. Nepalgunj was folded for 158 runs in 34.3 overs. Mahesh Chhetri scored 31 runs after a first wicket in first over. Bhupendra Thapa hit 12 runs before departing as second wicket. Amar Singh Routela top scored with 61 runs while 23 were awarded as extras. For, Janakpur, Raj Mohammad picked up four wickets, Kumar Prasun grabbed three while Sanjog Karn and Samir Nepal took wicket apiece.

In reply, Janakpur recorded an easy victory. Janakpur’s innings was well handled by Anil Mandal and Chandan Jha who both remained unbeaten for 82 and 37 runs respectively. Janakpur lost two wickets for 44 runs. Man of the match, Mandal played 105 balls with nine fours while Jha hit four fours playing 77 deliveries.

Tomorrow’s Matches:

APF Club Vs Region Number 4, Bhairahawa at T.U. Ground
Region Number 1 Biratnagar Vs Region Number 6, Baitadi at Engineering Ground