Bhaktapur, Kathmandu victorious

Bhaktapur and Kathmandu registered victories against Nuwakot and Lalitpur respectively in the U-16 selection tournament being played at Pulchowk Ground, Lalitpur.

In a first match, Bhaktapur defeated Nuwakot by nine wickets. In a 25 overs a side match, Nuwakot won the toss and elected to bat first.

Kiran Magar scored 37 runs off 39 balls, Bibek Jha remained unbeaten at 16 runs off 14 balls and Suyoj Tamrakar scored 14 runs off 19 balls as Nuwakot posted a total of 93 runs losing all 10 wickets in 18.3 overs. Magar who hit 6 fours and a six shared the partnership of 48 runs for first wicket with Tamrakar.

Ram Krishna Jaishwal, the man of the match picked up four wickets conceding only 19 runs in his 5 overs while Purushottam Jha grabbed three wickets. Krishna Ranavat and Dhiraj Mishra also picked up a wicket each for Bhaktapur.

In reply, Bhaktapur chased the target easily in just 14.1 overs losing only a wicket. Madhav Shrestha remained unbeaten at 37 runs off 43 deliveries with 4 fours while Purushottam Jha remained not out at 26 runs off 20 balls including three fours. Jeevan Lamsal who shared 52 runs partnership for first wicket went for a catch out in 12 runs.

In a second match played at the same venue, Kathmandu defeated Lalitpur by three wickets.

Lalitput won the toss and opted to bat first. Lalitpur put up a total of 112 runs losing all 10 wickets in 21.5 overs. Elson Jaiswal top scored 22 runs off 14 balls with 5 fours. Sharad Khadka added 18 runs off 17 deliveries while Sagub Karki made 16 runs off 27 balls.

Prabhash Bhushal picked up three wickets, Ranjan Niraula grabbed two wickets while Mohammad Shahid and Prakash Bista shared a scalp each for Kathmandu.

In reply, Kathmandu surpassed the target in 22.4 overs losing seven wickets.

Man of the match Mohammad Shahid remained unbeaten at 26 runs off 35 balls with 3 fours while Pratap Basnet added24 runs off 41 balls.

Manish Shrivastav and Bibash Thapa picked up two wickets each while Sagun Karki and Sharad Khadka shared a wicket each for Lalitpur.