Biratnagar wins maiden title

Latest news

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Cricnepal/Kathmandu: Region Number 1 Biratnagar clinched the maiden U19 title as they registered a 10 run victory over Region Number 4 Bhairahawa in the Wai Wai Under 19 National Cricket Tournament finals played today at Rangashala Ground, Pokhara.

Biratnagar players and officials pose for a photograph with trophy and certificates. Photo: CAN/Raman Siwakoti

Biratnagara scored a total of 168 runs in 49.5 overs after they won the toss and opted to bat first. Opener Amol Das provided a good start to Biratnagar with 19 runs off just 7 balls. But they lost four wickets at quick intervals leaving the team to 27 for 4.

Amit Dahal and Suman Shrestha lifted up the team’s performance with 86 runs partnership for fifth wicket. Dahal scored 36 off 82 while Shrestha added 31 off 57 before being caught. Rohit Singh (17) and Kalicharan Yadav (21) were some other major contributors. 30 runs came from extras.

Devendra Somare grabbed three wickets, Eklakh Ahamed picked up two while Susan Bhari, Krishna Sen, Bibek Chaudhary and Ganesh Gaudel claimed wicket apiece.

In reply, Bhairahawa was allout for 158 runs in 49.1 overs. Bhairahawa kept on losing wickets at regular intervals. Susan Bhari remained the top scorer for the team with 45 runs while Ganesh Gaudel (24), Krishna Sen (17), Man Bahadur Thapa (15) and Eklakh Ahamed (14) were other major run scorers. Struggling at the middle order, Susan provided some hope with a 35 runs partnership for eighth wicket. From 155 for 8, with 14 runs required from 14 balls, Bhairahawa lost their remaining two wickets in next consecutive overs.

Man of the match Kalicharan Yadav claimed four wickets, Mukund Yadav grabbed two wickets while Mayanand Chaudhary took one.

With the win, Biratnagar were awarded Rs 25000 while runner-up Bhairahawa got Rs 15,000.

Avinash Karn of Region Number 2 Birgun was adjudged man of the series and received Rs. 5000 as cash prize. Karn had claimed 14 wickets and scored 31 runs. Prakash Bista from Kathmandu who scored 115 runs was adjudged the best batsman. Amit Dahal from Biratnagar claimed 11 wickets to be awarded the best bowler. Bista, Dahal and player of the final Kalicharan Yadav received Rs. 5000 each.

Tanka Angbuhang, President of Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN), Lal Babu Prasad, AGM CG Foods, Raju Babu Shrestha, Treasurer of CAN, President of Cricket Association of Reg. No. 8 and other CAN officials gave away the prizes to the winners.

- Advertisement -

Related news

- Advertisement -