Birgunj confirm semifinal spot

Latest news

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

With a thrilling eight runs win over Region No 4 (Bhairahawa) on Monday, Region No 2 (Birgunj) confirmed their semifinal spot in the MG Trophy T20 National Cricket Tournament in Birgunj.

Region No 5 (Nepalgunj) defeated Region No 8 (Pokhara) by 52 runs in another match.

Winning the toss, Birjung scored 141 runs off 20 overs losing seven wickets. Man-of-the-match Amit Shrestha scored quick 56 runs off 37 balls. Krishna Karki was able to grab two wickets of Birgunj. Tight bowling from Birgung restricted Bhairahawa to 133 runs in 20 overs.

Sameer Thapa took two wickets while Sagar Pun was the top scorer with 47 runs for Bhairahawa.

Likewise, in another match Nepalgunj won the toss and posted 140 runs off 20 overs losing only six wickets. Man-of-the-match Subendu Pandey topscored for the winning side with 73 runs off 63 balls. Opener Mahesh Chhetri scored 14 runs off equal balls.

Nischal Pandey was able to take three wickets in a four over spell conceding 13 runs to Pokhara. Tight bowling from Nepalgunj bundled out Pokhara on 88 runs in 18.2 overs. Rahul Silwal grabbed three wickets in four overs giving away five runs.

Five of the Pokhara batsmen were out for ducks while Dipen Lamgade was the highest scorer for the losing side with 20 runs.

- Advertisement -

Related news

- Advertisement -