Birgunj defeat Pokhara

Region-II (Birgunj), Region-IV (Bhairahawa), Region-I (Biratnagar) and Region-VII (Janakpur) recorded wins in the Boost Secondary School Level U-16 National Boys Cricket Tournament here today.

At the Narayani Stadium, Birgunj beat Region-VIII (Pokhara) by four wickets. Put in to bat first, Pokhara scored 98-8 in 20 overs with Amar Adhikari contributing 21 and Santosh Upadhayaya chipping in 19 runs. Firoj Ansari and Merajul Hawari claimed two wickets each for Birgunj.

In reply, Birgunj chased the target losing six wickets in 19.3 overs. Man-of-the-match Md Rahul Ansari struck run-a-ball 59 with seven hits to the fence. Santosh Upadhayaya bagged two while Sushil Thapa, Pankaj Darai and Raju Poudel grabbed one wicket each for Pokhara.

In the second match, Bhairahawa edged Region-V (Nepalgunj) in Super Over (Eliminator) after the match ended in a tie. Bhairahawa score 122-6 before Nepalgunj were all out for 122 in the last ball of the 20 overs to force an extra over.

Biratnagar defeated Region-VI (Baitadi) by 27 runs. Biratnagar made 93-7 with Rabindra Yadav scoring 32 runs. Dipendra Airee and Kamal Tahakula took two wickets apiece for Baitadi. In reply, Baitadi could only muster 66 runs in 18.1 overs. Man-of-the-match Bibek Singh completed a five-wicket haul for Biratnagar. Meanwhile, Janakpur received a bye from Region-III (Kathmandu).