Birgunj won on the inaugural match

Region no. 2 Birgunj made light work of region no. 8 Pokhara defeating them by six wickets at the inaugural match of the MG Trophy T-20 National Cricket Tournament on Saturday.

Narayan Patel’s five wickets haul helped Birgunj bowl Pokhara out for 81 runs in 19.1 overs. In reply, the host chased the target of 82 runs in 18.4 overs with the loss of four wickets at the Birgunj Cricket Ground.

Hasim Ansari and Suraj Patel top scored with 19 runs each for Birgunj while Santosh Sah chipped in with 18 runs for the host.

Earlier, electing to bat, Pokhara did not have a good start, as they lost wickets at regular interval. Had it not been knocks from Sailesh Sriwastav (22) and Amrit Shrestha (13) Pokhara would not have got past 50 runs. Avinash Karn claimed three wickets for Birgunj.