National, Nepal Women

Bowlers sets up Nepalese win

Cricnepal/Kathmandu – Nepalese Women Cricket team started the ACC Women’s Championship tournament with a thumping win against Bhutan by 8 wickets at Prem Oval, Thailand.

Nepal won the toss and elected to field first in the sunny day. The pitch was hard but Bhutan didn’t have a good start and kept on losing the wickets at the end of the inning. Wicketkeeper Dechen Wangmo top scored with 23 runs from 70 balls with 2 boundaries. Three Batswomen were duck out. Nepali bowlers gave away 20 extra runs and took 8 wickets to Bhutan’s score of 65 in 25 overs. Captain Rubina Chhetri (4-2-6-2) & Neera Rajopadhyay (5-0-17-2) restricted Bhutan to the modest target.

Nepal lost their first wicket of Madhu Thapa (1 run) during the chase. But the other opener Sita Magar played sensibly scoring 18 runs off 35 balls and stayed till the end of the innings with Sarita Magar (11 runs off 22 balls). Before that, Roshani Bohara scored run a ball innings off 19 runs with 3 glorious boundaries and helped the team to secure a win in just 13.4 overs. There were 19 extra runs in Nepal’s inning.

Rubina Chhetri was adjudged Player of the Match. Nepal will now play UAE tomorrow.