Blind, National

CAB Nepal Elects New Central Comittee

Cricket Association of Nepal Blind

Cricnepal/KathmanduNewly formed Working Committee of Cricket Association of Blind Nepal
Cricket Association of Blind concluded its 3rd Annual General Meeting today (22nd Sharwan) electing new CAB Central Committee members. Today was also the 7th year anniversary of CAB’s establishment. CAB was setup on 2063 BS on the same day. It celebrated its anniversary by felicitating the 16 players who represented Nepal in Blind Cricket World Cup, India 2013.

Pawan Ghimere has been unanimously re-elected as chairman for the third consecutive time. Sugam Bhattarai and Rajedra Bhattarai were also re-elected in previous position of Genreal Secretary and Tresurer. Former vice chairman Mr. Bikram Bahadur Rana was replaced by Amrit Baral and former secretary Upendra Shrestha stepped down to central  member leaving his post to  Bimal Poudel. Ramesh Pokhrel,  Nirmal Paudel, Upendra Shrestha,  Samrat Sapkota, Rupa Balal and Lalu maya Bhujel were elected as general members.

The year 2069 has been a fruitful year for CAB Nepal as Nepal participated in its first Blind T20 World Cup. It had headlines all over the sports media by inclusion of two female members in the team. Pawan Ghimere was elected as the Asian Development Director for World Blind Cricket Council “WBCC” for the second straight time, during the annual general meeting and convention of World Blind Cricket Council.

As a result of its tedious efforts for working on Blind Women’s empowerment (despite limited help and resources) CAB was short listed by Beyond Sports for its coveted Social Inclusion Award.