International, National, Nepal U16

CAN announces preliminary sqaud for ACC U-16 Elite Cup

Kathmandu/Cricnepal: Cricket Association of Nepal(CAN) on Sunday selected the 19 players for the Close Camp of ACC U-16 Elite Cup Cricket Tournament to be held in Malaysia from 2 to 13 May, 2012.

The players selected are Dipendra Chand, Rupesh Bastola, Kalicharan Yadav, Rabin Gupta, Aakash Bista, Adil Khan, Asif Sheikh, Mukund Yadav, Sashi Bhusan Mishra, Nitesh Thakur, Alfaz Mansuri, Noor Dhoj Sen, Lokesh Jha, Ajay Sahani, Anup Neupane, Heman Rai, Kushal Bhurtel, Samsad Ansari and Jagadish Chand.

The players were selected on the basis of their performance in the recently concluded U-16 national tournament in Kathmandu.

Nepal is placed alongside Malaysia, Bahrain, Kuwait and Iran in group B while Group A comprises the defending champion Singapore, Hong Kong, Oman and Thailand. According to the fixture released by Asian Cricket Council (ACC) Nepal will take on Kuwait in the first match of the tournament on May 4 at Bayuemas Ground.

Runners up of the first edition, Nepal will play against Bahrain on May 6 at Kinrara, take on Iran on May 8 at Bayuemas and will face Malaysia on May 9 at Kinrara ground. The match will be of 40 overs.