CAN announces Squad; Das dropped

Cricket Association of Nepal
Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) has announced a 18 member squad for the upcoming India tour & ICC T-20 World Cup T-20 Qualifier to be held in March in UAE.

The 18-member squad will tour India for practice matches before the qualifiers in next month, and the final 14-member team will be selected after the tour.

A surprise inclusion of Paresh Lohani who hasn’t been in the National team since his last appearance in World Cricket League Division held at Kathmandu in February 2010. Former Captain Binod Das couldn’t find his place in the 18-member squad.

Meanwhile, Paras Khadka will be leading the squad although his captaincy was little under scanner after the team’s poor performance in ACC Twenty20.

“Our players had enough off the practices at the home ground and with similar opponents. Therefore, we are taking our players to India,” said CAN President Tanka Angbuhang.

“We want our players to get acquainted with conditions of other pitches,” he added. However, Aangbuhang said that CAN is yet to finalize opponents for the practice matches.

18 Squad Member’s of Nepal for India Tour 2012 & ICC T-20 World Cup T-20 Qualifier 2012, UAE

Paras Khadka (Captain), Gyanendra Malla, Prithu Baskota, Subash Khakurel, Basant Regmi, Binod Bhandari, Sharad Vesawkar, Sanjam Regmi, Pradeep Airee, Shakti Gauchan, Rahul Kumar Vishwakarma, Krishna Karki, Amrit Bhattarai, Paresh Lohani, Anil Mandal, Avinash Karn, Mahaboob Alam & Chandra Saud.