CAN announces U-19 Asia Cup Squad

Latest news

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Kathmandu/Cricnepal: Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) on Friday announced 15-member squad for the upcoming ACC U-19 Asia Cup scheduled to be held in Malaysia from June 23 to July 1.

Prithu Baskota will lead the team while Pradeep Airee will be vice-captain. Nepal who is placed in group A will face India, Pakistan and Malaysia in group stage matches.

Other players who were part of the ICC U-19 World Cup Qualifier included in the squad are Avinash Karn, Bhuwan Karki, Fazlur Rahman Khan, Krishna Karki, Naresh Budhayer, Rahul Vishawakarma, Rajesh Pulami Magar, Sagar Pun and Subash Khakurel.

CAN selected four new cricketers who were no part of the ICC U-19 World Cup Qualifiers held in Ireland last year. They are Hasim Ansari, Gopal Kumar Singh, Saurabh Khanal and Ram Naresh Giri.

Four players have been kept as reserve. They are Nischal Pandey, Rupesh Srivastav, Pawan Shrestha and Prajesh Bahadur Singh.

Subendu Pandey, Abhishek Jha, Bijay Ghalan, Binod Lama, Shiva Tandukar and Sushil Kandel were axed from the 26 member preliminary squad who had been undergoing training in closed camp for last couple of weeks in Kathmandu.

The U-19 team is also slated to participate in the ICC U-19 World Cup later on August in Australia.

- Advertisement -

Related news

- Advertisement -