CAN calls 37 players for closed camp training

Crinepal/Kathmandu: With consideration to the ACC Twenty20 Elite Cup to be held in Kathmandu from March 24 to April 3 and ICC World Cricket League Division 3 to be held in Bermuda, Cricket Association of Nepal(CAN) on Sunday announced the 37 members team for the first round of training.

The 35 members were selected based on their performance in the recently held Pepsi Standard Chartered National One Day and Twenty20 Cricket Tournament while two were selected based on their performance in the International Tournaments held in the year 2012.

The selected players for the closed camp include Paras Khadka, Paresh Prasad Lohani, Sharad Vesawkar, Subash Khakurel, Sunam Gautam, Prithu Baskota, Gyanendra Malla, Amrit Bhattarai, Basanta Regmi, Shakti Gauchan and Sanjam Regmi from Armed Police Force(APF). Manjeet Shrestha and Pushpa Thapa were selected from Region Number 1 (Biratnagar) while Region Number 2 (Birgunj) have Kumar Thapa, Amit Shrestha, Avinash Karn, Naresh Raj Giri and Jitendra Mukhiya in the list.

Rajesh Pulami and Prakash Bista were selected from Region Number 3 (Kathmandu). From Region Number 4 (Bhairahawa), Sagar Pun, Krishna Karki, Nischal Chaudhary and Fajlur Rahman Khan were selected.

Baitadi have seven players selected for the camp – Binod Bhandari, Bhuwan Karki, Naresh Budhayer, Pradeep Airee, Chandra Sawad Mahendra Chand and Yagyaman Kumal. Anil Mandal, Sanjog Karn and Hari Shankar Shah were selected from Region Number 7 (Janakpur) while Rahul Vishwakarma is the only one from Region Number 8 (Pokhara). Region Number 5 (Nepalgunj) had no players  selected for the 37. Binod Das who is in the list did not feature in National Twenty20 due to injury while Saurabh Khanal from R4-Bhairahawa was also selected seeing his past performance.

The national team and A team will be formed from the selected 37 players and the closed camp will begin from 17th January in Kathmandu.

Meanwhile, Cricket Association is set to inaugurate a long awaited National Cricket Academy on Tuesday. The academy at Tribhuwan University Ground will be inaugurated by the member secretary of National Sports Council, Yuvaraj Lama.

Android users now can get all the updates on Nepali Cricket from your device. To download the android application click here