In Focus, National

CAN discuss to create Region No. 9

Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) has decided to create a new cricketing Region.

Presently, there are Eight Cricketing Regions in Nepal but according to new agenda in CAN, they are planning to split Region No.6 (Baitadi).

The new Region will be called Region No. 9. “Our steering committee has decided to develop domestic cricket through nine regions. However, we are yet to decide the territories of the concerned regions,” said Ashok Nath Pyakuryal, the general secretary of CAN.

Earlier, all the districts of Far-Western Development Region were in Region No 6 but this could change following the new decision and Region No 9 could have its base in Dhangadhi.