National, Nepal Men

CAN picks 18 players for Div-3; Airee, Mukhiya, Karn OUT

Kathmandu-Pradeep Airee, Jitendra Mukhiya and Avinash Karn failed to make it to the 18 man squad list prepared by Cricket Association of Nepal(CAN) for the upcoming ICC World Cricket League Division 3 Cricket Tournament to be held in Uganda from 26 October to 2 November, 2014.

Jitendra Mukhiya who had been leading Nepali pace attack for over nearly a year did not feature in any practice matches due to reportedly “minor injuries”. Meanwhile, Left Arm Medium Pacer Avinash Karn did not play any of four practice matches as he is also recovering from the injury.

Pradeep Airee on the other hand had an average performance getting to 30 odd runs in two of the matches, while in other two, he failed to reach double digits.

Karan KC who wasn’t listed in the initial 24 has been included in the list,  while the left arm speedster Avinash Karn has been left out. KC plays for Region no. 8 and was also part of NPL Champions Panchakanya Tez.

Rahul Viswakarma, Bhuwan Karki, Anil Mandal and Ram Naresh Giri also make it to the 18.

Paras Khadka(captain), Gyanendra Malla(vice captain), Sharad Vesawkar, Subhash Khakurel, Binod Bhandari, Basanta Regmi, Shakti Gauchan, Sagar Pun, Sompal Kami, Ram Naresh Giri, Amrit Bhattarai, Karan KC, Rahul B.K, Anil Mandal, Bhuwan Karki, Aarif Seikh, Naresh Budhayer and Meheboob Alam

Noteable Exclusions: Jitendra Mukhiya, Pradeep Airee, Avinash Karn, Mahesh Chhetri,