Nepal Women, News

CAN unveil the women’s squad for Malaysia tour

Nepalese Women's Cricket Team|Nepalese Women's Cricket Team

The Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) has unveiled the 14-member squad of Nepal’s national women’s cricket team for the upcoming tour of Malaysia. Nepal will play five-match T20I series against Malaysia’s national women’s cricket team starting on May 29.

Three young players, Samjhana Khadka, Kritika Marasini and Ishwori Bista, are given a call for the first time in the national squad. Spinner Kritika, left-arm pacer Ishwori, and batter Samjhana have showcased outstanding performances in domestic cricket.

Meanwhile, Sangita Rai, Mamta Chaudhary, Sony Pakhrin and Shristi Jaisi were left out of the Preliminary squad. Regular captain Rubina Chhetri will lead the side, while Samson Jung Thapa is the head coach.

The series will kick off on 29th May, followed by the second match on May 30. The third and the fourth match will be played on June 1 and June 3, respectively. The final T20I match will be played on June 4. All matches will be played on YSD-UKM Oval, Bangi, Malaysia starting from 11:00 AM NST.

The Nepalese Women’s team are set to play bilateral series after a year. The last time Nepal Women’s team played international bilateral series against Uganda at home for five-match T20I series in May 2022, which ended 3-2 in favour of Uganda. Meanwhile, Nepal women’s cricket team last played an international match against UAE on June 22 2022.

Nepal is currently ranked 16th on ICC Women’s T20I ranking, while Malaysia are ranked 28th.

Nepal’s Squad: Rubina Chhetri, Sita Rana Magar, Indu Barma, Kabita Kunwar, Jyoti Pandey, Apsari Begam, Kabita Joshi, Ashmina Karmacharya, Bindu Rawal, Kajal Shrestha, Samjhana Khadka, Ishwori Bist, Saraswati Chaudhary and Kritika Marasaini