Nepal A

Canada XI win the series against Nepal A

Canada XI has won the series against Nepal A after defeating them in the series-deciding match. Canada XI emerged victorious by four wickets at Mulpani Cricket Ground on Thursday.

Chasing a target of 182 runs, Canada completed a target in 38.5 overs losing six wickets. Nicholas Kirton anchored the innings for the winning side with an unbeaten 58 runs from 79 balls. Opener Aaron Johnson smacked 31-ball 42 whereas Navneet Dhaliwal made 38 runs.

Canada bagged a four-wicket win in the series opener whilst Nepal levelled things with a two-wicket win in the second match.

For Nepal, Shahab Alam shined with four wickets (10-0-35-4). Basir Ahamad and Sher Malla also pocketed one wicket each.

Earlier in the first innings, Nepal A were bowled out for 181 in 47 after being asked to bat first.

Openers Ashutosh Ghiraiya and Arjun Kumal yielded a brilliant start adding 55 runs for the first wicket. Ashutosh departed for 28 before Sher Malla (1) was dismissed in the next over. Arjun Kumal and Sundeep Jora too were dismissed after getting a start. Arjun made 27 runs whilst Sundeep scored 24.

Nepal were 87/4 at one stage and they couldn’t add a big partnership. Sujan Thapaliya and Rashid Khan added 36 runs for the fifth wicket with Sujan adding 20 and Rashid making 19. Bashir scored 25 before being run out. Pratish played a crucial knock of 20-ball 19.

For Canada, Harsh Thaker, Nicholas Kirton and Dilon Heyliger picked up two wickets each. Kaleem Sana and Saad Bin Zafar also pocketed one each whilst two batters suffered a run-out.