CCRC, Bridge Water into quarters

KATHMANDU, June 24: Host CCRC ´A´ and Bridge Water College have confirmed their quarterfinal berths in the ongoing 4th CCRC ICC T-20 Cricket Tournament on Friday.

In the matches played at the TU Ground, Kritipur, CCRC beat ACE Institute by 129 runs while Bridge Water defeated Intensive College by 112 runs for their back to back win in the tournament.

Winning the toss, CCRC opted to bat first and scored 161 losing eight wickets. Fazlur Rahman scored 38 runs off 29 balls with three boundaries and a six while Bijay Thapa scored 38 runs off 27 balls with four boundaries and a six while opener Anil Mandal scored 33 runs.

Avash Ghimire was the most successful bowler in the inning as he took three wickets in four overs conceding 22 runs. Ayush Sharma and Pasang Pant grabbed two wickets each for ACE.

Four wickets haul from man-of-the-match Sanjam regmi in 2.1 overs guided CCRC for the big win. Amrit Bhattarai, Lal Bahadur Adhikari, Santosh Baral and Bijay Thapa shared a wicket each as they restricted ACE at just 32 runs off 12.1 overs.

Ashish Baidhya was the highest run scorer for ACE with eight runs for as many balls. Six of the ACE batsmen were sent back to the pavilion for a duck.

In another match, a half century from Subendu Pandey guided Bridge Water to a total of 182 runs at the loss of four wickets. Pandey, who earlier had scored a century in the first match, scored 59 runs off 40 balls with four boundaries and four sixes. Opener Suman Uday scored 43 runs off 35 balls with three boundaries. Anirudh Shakya, Sabin Shrestha and Sijan Subedi took a wicket each while Uday was run out.

Three wickets each from Avinash Karn, Dipankar Yonjan and Jai Prakash Gupta helped Bridge Water restrict Intensive at just 70 runs off 17.3 overs. Sijan Subedi was the highest run scorer for the losing team with 19 runs. Anil Maharjan scored 17 while other Intensive batsmen were not able to reach the double figure margin.