CPL kicks off; KCC and Triton International win

Cricnepal/Kathmandu: Kantipur City College(KCC) and Triton International College started the College Premier League Nepal Qualifiers with a win in the opening day of the qualifying tournament in capital today.

KCC defeated Pulchowk Engineering College by 55 runs while Triton registered a nine wickets victory over Advance Engineering College.

Batting first at Army School Ground Bhaktapur, Nepal U19 International Rajesh Pulami hit a 52 balls-83 as KCC posted a good total of 168 runs in allotted 20 overs. Pulami hit seven fours and five sixes while Rivaz Shrestha 27; Md. Riyaz Alam 16 and Shibu Budhathoki 13 were some other major contributors. For Pulchowk, Ishwor Joshi claimed four wickets while Gambhir Bist and Suman Sah picked one each.

In reply Pulchowk could only add 113 runs for 6 wickets in 20 overs. Krishna Thapa and Suman Sah scored 38 runs each for the losing side. Md. Riyaz Alam Nagendra Upadhyay and player of the match Rajesh Pulami picked a wicket each.

In the second match Advance College batting first managed to score a low total of 79 losing all wickets in 19.1 overs which Triton later chased easily in 11 overs with losing only a wicket. Pawan Yadav top scored with 29 runs while Bikal Khanal and Sujan Shrestha added 12 and 10 runs respectively. Niraj Basnet grabbed two wickets while Bijay Gautam Prabin Joshi and Boby Kunwar shared a scalp each for Triton.

Triton in reply made a perfect start with Amit Shrestha scoring 19 runs before departing as a first wicket. Robin Joshi and player of the match Niraj Basnet remained unbeaten at 28 and 20 runs respectively. Ramesh Bhatta picked up the only wicket for Advance College.

The six day qualifier will see six college teams competing for the only spot. The qualifiers is played in a league cum knockout format. Golden Gate International College, Triton International College, Kantipur City College(KCC), Pulchowk Engineering College, Advance Engineering College, Trinity International College will participate in the qualifiers. The tournament is supported by Cricket Association of Nepal and The Karnataka State Cricket Association Bangalore. The Qualifying match will be starting from the today to the 20Th December and then followed by Semi Finals on 21st Dec and Finals on the 22nd Dec 2012. MR. Dinesh Nilkanth , Principal of Jain university would be coming down to attend the Final here in Kathmandu .


cricnepal Staff
cricnepal Staffhttps://cricnepal.com
cricnepal Staff writes the news on National and International cricket.



- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -


- Advertisement -