Cricket Dominates NSJF Sports Award, Again!

CricNepal-Cricket bagged as many as four honors in the 12th Nepal Sports Journalist Fourum (NSJF) Sports Award including the player of the year(male)-Paras Khadka. As cricket swept the awards floor, this edition of NSJF Sports Award like many previous editions was just a reflection of Nepal Cricket’s spectacular show.

Pubudu Dassanayake was declared the best coach and Team Cricket-the best team of the year. Paras, Pubudu and Cricket Team had received the same awards  in the previous year as well and it would have been an exact repeat for cricket had Sharad Vesawkar not been honored with “The Special” Award.

Sompal Kami and Avinash Karn who were nominated for player of the year(youth) and Sita Rana Magar for Player of the year(female) did not take home any allocates. Bimal Gharti Magar rightly took the player of the year youth and 20 year old Judo player Sunita Bohora claimed the Player of the year(female).

This is the second year in a row that Paras Khadka and  Pubudu Dassanayake have  been declared the best player and  best coach award at NSJF Sports Award. Khadka has now won the player of the year 3 times (2066, 2069,2070). He had also been declared the Youth Player of the year at NSJF Sports Award 2064.

Vesawkar recieved the Special Award for his special innings’ at ICC World T20 Qualifier where with his brutal power and nerves o still led Nepal to some of the most spectacular wins for Nepal in cricket(18 off last overs against Kenya, 13 off last over vs Hong Kong and 11 off last over vs. UAE). His six and a four in the last over against Hong Kong  had helped Nepal to the 2014 World T20. After receiving the award Vesawkar credited his mother for his show. “If anyone wants to know it was my mothers hand made food that gave me strength to hit sixes”, he said thanking his mother.

Khadka missed out on the Popular Player of the Year Award once again losing to Saraswati Chaudhary(Volleyball). Khadka had been nominated for the popular player in the previous edition of the NSJF Sports Award as well.


NSJF Pulsar Sports Awars 2070
Player of the Year (Male) – Paras Khadka(Cricket)
Player of the year (Female) – Sunita Bohara (Judo)
Popular Player of the Year – Saraswoti Chaudhary (VolleyBall)
Lifetime Achievement Award – Baikuntha Manandhar
Special Award of the Year- Sharad Vesawkar (Cricket)
Team of the Year – Nepal Cricket Team
Para Athlete of the Year – Yadav Kunwar (Taekwondo)
Coach of the Year – Pubudu Dassanayake (Cricket)
Player of the Year (Youth) – Bimal Gharti Magar (Football)

Cricket in NSJF Sports Award Until 2070
2062 -Roy Dais(Best Coach), Binod Das(Best Player of the Year), Kaniska Chaugain(Rising Player Award)
2064-Nary Thapa(Best Female PoY) Paras Khadka(Youth PoY), Jai Kumar Nath Shah(Lifetime Achievement Award)
2065– Mehboob Alam(Special Award), Kesari Chaudhary(Youth PoY)
2066-Paras Khadka(Player of the Year), Rubina Chhetri(Magical Performance of the Year) and Komal Pandey(Life time Achievement Award)
2067-Nary Thapa(Youth Player of the Year)
2068-Prithu Banskota(Youth Player of the year), Jagat Tamata(Best Coach)
2069– Paras Khadka(Player of the Year), Pubudu Dassanayake(Best Coach) , Best Team Award, Cricket Association of Blind(Special Award), Bikram Bahadur Rana(Para-athelete Award)