Cricket dominates Sports Award nominations

Kathmandu/Cricnepal: Cricket dominated the Pulsar Sports Award nominations as six of the players made it to the final list after Nepal Sports Journalists Forum (NSJF) announced the list in four categories here today.

National skipper Paras Khadka was nominated for the Player of the Year(Male) award. Khadka led the departmental side Nepal Armed Police Force (APF) Club to the One Day National Tournament title and the sixth National Games gold. He also led Nepal to their first ever semi-finals in the ACC Twenty20 Cup in Kathmandu before helping the national team finish seventh in the 16 teams World Twenty20 Qualifiers in the UAE.

Prithu Baskota, Rubina Chhetri, Jagat Tamata, Navin Singh, Pubudu Dassanayake were the others to be nominated for the awards from cricket as an eight-member Player Selection Committee headed by NSJF Secretary Mahesh Acharya shortlisted the final nominees.

The players and coaches were nominated for the Award on the basis of their performances and achievements in national and international tournaments during the year 2011-12.

Nepal u-19 skipper Prithu Baskota, Nepal U-19 Women’s skipper Rubina Chhetri were nominated for the Youth Player of the Year award.

Cricket dominated the Best Coach Award nominations with Pubudu Dassanayake, Jagat Tamata and Navin Singh making the final cut.

The Award also has three more categories — Lifetime Achievement, Special, and Para-Athlete — the winners of which will be disclosed directly during the Award function at the Nepal Academy Hall on July 4.

Male and Female Player of the Year award winners will be presented with a Pulsar motorbike each, while winners of other six categories will get Rs 30,000 each apart from various gift hampers.

Vote Shakti Gauchan for Pulsar Popular Player Of The Year Award. To Vote for Shakti, type Pulsar SG and send it to 3131. You can also dial 1605 and follow instructions to vote Gauchan.