DAV win inaugural match

LALITPUR: DAV School defeated Nimble by four wickets in the inaugural match of the sixth SNB Memorial Inter-school Twenty20 Cricket Tournament at the Engineering Campus grounds on Sunday.

Batting first, Nimble were bowled out for 76 runs in 18.2 overs before DAV reached 77-6 in 13.1 overs. Nilaya Mainali top scored for Nimble with 18 runs, while four DAV bowlers — Sahil Ahmed, Saurav Bajaj, Ritesh Sharma and Prashant Jain — took two wickets each.

In reply, man-of-the-match Aashish Jha scored 31-ball 39 hitting six fours for DAV. Sagar Ghale took three and Nilaya Mainali picked two wickets for Nimble.

In another match, EPS hammered NAMSS by 126 runs. Batting first, EPS amassed 149-7 in 20 overs and packed NAMSS for a paltry 23 runs in 10.1 overs.

Prakash Bista scored a quick-fire 66 off 53 balls hitting 10 fours, while Avinash Giri contributed 16. Anish Rijal and Sandesh Pandey took two wickets each for NAMSS.

Man-of-the-match Prakash Bista, Samrat Khanal and Saurav Mahato shared nine wickets between them as none of the NAMSS batsmen could score in double digits.

The tournament has been organised by Adarsha Vidhya Mandir School in memory of its founder principal Satya Narayan Bahadur Shrestha.