Defending Champion APF face Bhairahawa in National One Day Final

Cricnepal/Kathmandu: APF and Region Number 4 Bhairahawa will see each other in the final of the Pepsi Standard Chartered National Cricket Tournament after both registered wins in the semi final matches played today.

APF defeated Region Number 2 Birgunj by a huge margin of 120 runs while Bhairahawa registered a eight wickets victory over Region Number 7 Janakpur.

Winning the toss, APF made a good start with opening duo sharing 48 runs between them before Subash Khakurel was caught for 21 runs. Paresh Lohani(53) then shared the partnership of 86 runs with Sanjay Shrestha for second wicket. Shrestha later was caught for 49 runs. Paras Khadka 41, Sharad Vesawkar 28 and Basanta Regmi 27 were some other major contributors for APF.

Kumar Thapa picked up three wickets, Naresh Raj Giri and Jitendra Mukhiya claimed two each while Aarif Sheikh got one for Birgunj.

In reply, Basanta Regmi claimed crucial four wickets as Birgunj were bundled for 159 in 44 overs. In form batsman Amit Shrestha went out for 21 runs as first wicket . Two of the other: Hasim Ansari and Aairf Seikh went for 21 runs while Rabin Gurung top scored 42 runs. Amrit Bhattarai, Sunam Gautam, Shakti Gauchan, Sanjam Regmi and Sharad Vesawkar claimed a wicket each for APF.

In the second semi final, Bhairahawa put the Janakpu’s winning run to end. Batting first Janakpur was restricted to just 131 runs in 45.2 overs. Anil Mandal top scored 30 runs for Janakpur while Chandan Jha 26, Kumar Prasun 18, Roshan Thakur 15, Pravash Jha were some other major contributors. Lal Bahadur Adhikari picked up three wickets for Bhairahawa. Bibek Chaudhary and Sagar Pun claimed two each while Krishna Karki and Sushan Bhari had a sclap each.

In reply, openning duo Sagar Pun and Fajlur Rahman each scored 52 runs to guide the side to an easy win. Man of the match Pun was caught at the team score of 100, just 32 runs away from the final place. Pun struck nine fours in his 48 balls play while Khan remained unbeaten with eight fours. Antim Thapa assisted Khan with 19 runs.

Abhisek Jha picked up the only two wickets for Janakpur.

Janakpur were undefeated in their league round.

The final will take place on Friday at Tribhuwan University Ground with defending champion APF playing Bhairahawa. The match will begin at 08:45 AM while the match will also be broadcasted live in NTV Plus.