Dhangadi Cricket League Kicks off; SPA wins the opener

Cricnepal/Kathmandu: Dhangadi Cricket Academy is set to organize 40 over a side Cricket Tournament  in Dhangadi, which kicked off today as DCA Tigers take on SPA Cricket Academy.

Eight local teams are participating in the tournament, every matches of the tournament to be held in Tribhuwan High School Ground, Bodarodi. The tournament spans just over three months. as the matches will be played only on Saturdays and Public Holidays.

Opening ceremony of Dhangadi Cricket League. Photo: Dhangadi Cricket Academy

The teams are divided in two groups of 4 each and two teams from each group will qualify for the semi finals to be held on 11th Feburary(Sonam Loshar) and 16th Feburary. The final will take place on 18th Feburary(Democracy Day). Pool A comprises of teams DCA Tigers, SPA Cricket Club, Kailali Multiple Cricket Club and Dhangadi Sports Club while Pool B have DCA Eagles, Aishwarya Cricket Club, Tikapur Cricket Club and Creative Youth Club in the list.

In the opening match today, SPA Cricket Club defeated Dhangadi Cricket Academy(DCA) Eagles by a huge margin of 152 runs. Winning the toss, DCA invited SPA to bat first. SPA then posted a good score of 199 runs losing all wickets in 35 overs. Nishant Thapa top scored 51 runs while Lalit Bam remained unbeaten at 46. Sandip Khadka added 31 runs. For DCA, Sailendra Regmi and Subodh Air took two wickets each.

In reply, DCA was bundled for just 47 runs in 22 overs. None of the batsman made a double digit score. Rajesh Khatri took five wickets for SPA while Paren Khatri had three.

The lague was inaguarated by the meber of the Cricket Association of Nepal Dipak Saud.

The winners of the tournament will take home Nrs.25,000 while the runner ups shall be awarded Nrs.10,000.

cricnepal Staff
cricnepal Staffhttps://cricnepal.com
cricnepal Staff writes the news on National and International cricket.



- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -


- Advertisement -