EPLT20: Chitwan Tigers register second win, beat Kathmandu Kings XI

Chitwan Tigers registered their second victory, defeating Kathmandu Kings XI by three wickets in the fourth edition of the Everest Premier League (EPL) T20 Cricket tournament.

In the match held at the TU Cricket ground in Kirtipur today, put in to bat first after losing the toss, Kathmandu scored 141 runs at the loss of 8 wickets in the stipulated 20 overs. Subash Khakurel top-scored for Kathmandu with 35 runs while Raju Rijal contributed 28 runs.

Similarly, Janak Prakash scored 26 runs while Rahmanullah Gurbaj added five runs. Captain Sandeep Lamichhane remained unbeaten on 7 runs.

For Chitwan, Sagar Dhakal took four wickets while Karim Janat took two wickets. Kamal Airee and Sekuge Prasanna took one wicket each.

In reply, Chitwan completed the victory target of 142 runs set by Kathmandu at the loss of 7 wickets in 18.4 overs.

Rajesh Pulami top-scored with 26 runs in Chitwan’s victory. Kamal Singh Airy remained unbeaten on 23 runs. Similarly, Dilip Nath scored 23 runs, Karim Janat 21 runs and Mohammad Sahajad 21 runs.

For Kathmandu, Jitendra Mukhiya and Ryan Burl of Kathmandu took 2 wickets each while Janak Prakash, Sandeep Lamichhane and Gulshan Jha took 1 wicket each.

In the first match, Chitwan had defeated Biratnagar Warriors. Chitwan has added 4 points in 2 games whilst Kathmandu has 2 points in 2 games.

Kathmandu had defeated Lalitpur Patriots in the inaugural match of the tournament.