Four cricketing regions get sponsorship

KATHMANDU: With the start of the National Cricket Tournament from May 3, four of the regional teams have found sponsorship for their teams´, informed Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) President Binay Raj Pandey in a press conference in the capital on Friday.

Region No 2 (Birgunj), Region No 3 (Kathmandu), Region No 4 (Bhairahawa) Region No 5 (Nepalgunj) will be wearing the sponsor´s logo on their jersey during the game. Pandey informed that Region No 2 president Pawan Agrawal brought the sponsorship for his region through his own initiatives while other sponsorships were brought in by CAN. “We are working toward bringing sponsorships for the remaining regions.”

Though the president informed the sponsored regions he didn´t reveal institutions to sponsor the regions. Earlier Armed Police Force (APF) team was sponsored by Ncell Company.

CAN has announced to conduct National Cricket Tournament beginning from Tuesday. The 18-day event will feature four newly formed teams – Armed Police Force (APF), Nepal Police Club (NPC), Region No 7 (Janakpur) and Region No 8 (Pokhara).

Altogether 10 teams will compete in One Day International and T20 tournament at the TU Cricket Ground and Pulchowk Engineering Ground.

Players from the tournament will be selected to form a national team as Nepal is gearing up for the T20 Cricket World Cup qualifiers.