Gyanendra Malla to lead Bagmati Province in PM Cup

Gyanendra Malla

Gyanendra Malla will lead Bagmati Province in the Prime Minister Cup One-day tournament to be held in Kathmandu from October 30.

Bagmati Province Cricket Association, on October 26, announced their 18-member squad to feature in this year’s PM Cup.

Prithu Baskota has been appointed Vice-Captain. Rit Gautam, Durgesh Thapa (WK), Aashutosh Ghiraiya, Ishan Pandey, Nandan Yadav, Ramnaresh Giri, Pratish GC, Rijan Dhakal, Surya Tamang, Tilak Bhandari and Sonu Devkota are roped in the final 14-players. Likewise, Gaurav Khadka, Gautam KC, Ashok Poudel and Ramashish Mahato are included as reserve players.

Samson Jung Thapa has been assigned as a coach and Sujan Maharjan as their team manager.

The Bagmati team is placed in Group B and will kick off the 50-over format tournament against Nepal Police at the Mulpani ground on October 30. In the 2020 edition, Bagmati lost to Tribhuvan Army Club by 94 runs in the semi-final.

In the recently concluded 9th National games, the Bagmati Province was knocked out without playing a single match in the tournament due to rain.

Bagmati vs Nepal Police – 30 October
Bagmati vs Province 1 – 1 November
Bagmati vs Lumbini – 2 November
Bagmati vs Madhesh Province – 7 November

The Prime Minister’s Cup National Cricket Tournament comprises ten teams from seven provinces and three departmental teams.

The participating teams are divided into two groups. Group ‘A’ has Gandaki Province, APF Club, Tribhuvan Army Club, Karnali Province, and Sudurpaschim while Group ‘B’ includes Nepal Police Club, Bagmati Province, Lumbini Province, Madhesh Province, and Province No.1.