Host clinches KU Cup T-20 Cricket

Kathmandu/Cricnepal: Host Kathmandu University lifted the title of first KU Cup T20 Cricket Tournament with a 92 runs victory over Kathmandu University School of Medical Sciences(KUMS) at Kathmandu University Ground, Dhulikhel  today.

Winning the toss, KU elected to bat first and scored a big total of 213 for 6 in 20 overs. Pragyesh Dhungel hammered 109 off 57 with 20 boundaries. Krishna Bista and Ankit Bikram Paudel contributed 28 and 26 runs respectively for KU’s big inning.  Amit Singh and Ashutosh Kafle grabbed a wicket each for KUMS.

In reply,  KUMS was bowled for 121 runs in 17.5 overs. Raj Kumar Yadav top scored with 23 runs. Saroj Ghimire and Prabin Kumar Jha added 20 runs each. Krishna Bista picked up three wickets while Sagar Chand and Raunak Jung Pandey claimed two wickets each for KU.

KU players and officials celebrate after lifting the trophy. Photo: CAN

Pragyesh Dhungel was adjudged the player of the match.

Krishna Bista of KU was awarded the player of the series award. Bista has scored 168 runs and taken 10 wickets. Scoring 263 runs, Pragesh Dhungel of the same team won the best batsman award. While,  Aashish Ghimire of NCM was adjudged the best bowler for his 9 wickets.