International, National

ICC announces teams for World Cricket League Div 3

ICC – The International Cricket Council (ICC) today announced the six squads that will travel to Bermuda for Pepsi ICC World Cricket League (WCL) Division 3 from 28 April – 5 May 2013.

Italy, Nepal, Oman, Uganda, the USA and host Bermuda will compete not only for the opportunity to finish in the top two of the event, but to win the chance to advance all the way to the ICC’s flagship event, the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015.

The leading two sides from WCL Division 3 will progress to the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier, which will be held in New Zealand in 2014 and feature 10 of the leading Associate and Affiliate teams. The top two sides from the qualifying event will then advance to the 14-team ICC Cricket World Cup 2015, to be held in Australia and New Zealand, where they will compete against the ten Full Members on a global stage.

Pepsi ICC WCL Division 3 will be played on three grounds: National Sports Stadium, St. David’s and Somerset CC.


Bermuda – Stephen Outerbridge (captain), Jason Anderson, Lionel Cann, Jekon Edness, Treadwell Gibbons, David Hemp, Malachi Jones, Greg Maybury, Tre Manders, Delray Rawlins, Jacobi Robinson, Curt Stovell, Rodney Trott and Janeiro Tucker

Italy – Alessandro Bonora (captain), Damian Graham Crowley, Gayashan De Silva Munasinghe, Luis Di Giglio, Dilan Fernando Arsakulasuriya, Fida Hussain, Dinidu Marage, Damian Muthunamagonnage Fernando, Andrew Northcote, Hayden Patrizi Dell’agnello, Vincenzo Pennazza, Peter Petricola, Michael Raso and Carl Sandri

Nepal – Paras Khadka (captain), Pradeep Airee, Prithu Baskota, Binod Bhandari, Amrit Bhattarai, Shakti Prasad Gauchan, Subash Prasad Khakurel, Gyanendra Malla, Anil Kumar Mandal, Basanta Regmi, Sanjam Regmi, Chandra Sawad, Sharad Vesawkar and Rahul Kumar Vishwakarma

Oman – Vaibhav Wategaonkar (captain), Sultan Ahmed, Qais Al Said, Syed Amir Ali, Munis Ansari, Ghazanfar Iqbal, Syed Aamir Kaleem, Ajay Lalcheta, Sufyan Mahmood, Hemal Mehta, Nileshkumar Parmar, Rajesh Ranpura, Zeeshan Siddiqui and Jatinder Singh

Uganda – Davis Arinaitwe (captain), Benjamin Musoke, Roger Mukasa, Laurence Sematimba, Frank Nsubuga, Brian Masaba, Arthur Kyobe, Charles Waiswa, Michael Ndiko, Deusdedit Muhumuza, Henry Senyondo, Arthur Ziraba, Jonathan Sebanja and Richard Okia

USA – Steve Massiah (captain), Danial Ahmed, Timroy Allen, Orlando Baker, Barrington Bartley, Akeem Dodson, Muhammad Asad Ghous, Elmore Hutchinson, Naseer Jamali, Rashard Marshall, Neil Mcgarrell, Sushil Nadkarni, Japen Patel and Steven Taylor

Match officials

The match officials for the event include England’s Richard Illingworth of the Emirates International Panel of ICC Umpires, who will also act as a mentor, helping to educate and guide the umpires throughout the tournament as part of the ongoing ICC initiative for umpire development outside the Full Members. He will be part of a team of officials from six countries. David Jukes will be the referee for the tournament.

The umpires are:

Richard Illingworth (England)
Courtney Young (Cayman Islands)
Roger Dill (Bermuda)
Steven Douglas (Bermuda)
Silvan Taylor (USA)
Niels Bagh (Denmark)
Viswanadan Kalidas (Malaysia)


27 April – Practice
28 April – Bermuda v Uganda (National Sports Stadium), Italy v Oman (St. David’s), Nepal v USA (Somerset CC)
29 April – Italy v USA (National Sports Stadium), Bermuda v Oman (St. David’s), Nepal v Uganda (Somerset CC)
30 April – Rest/Reserve Day
1 May – Uganda v Italy (National Sports Stadium), Bermuda v Nepal (St. David’s), Oman v USA (Somerset CC)
2 May – Nepal v Oman (National Sports Stadium), USA v Uganda (St. David’s), Bermuda v Italy
3 May – Rest/Reserve Day
4 May – Bermuda v USA (National Sports Stadium), Nepal v Italy (St. David’s), Uganda v Oman (Somerset CC)
5 May – Final (National Sports Stadium), 3rd v 4th Play-off (St. David’s), 5th v 6th Play-off (Somerset CC)

All matches are scheduled to start at 10:30 local time

Qualification for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015

The Pepsi ICC World Cricket League (WCL) provides regular playing opportunities for similar standard ICC Associate and Affiliate Members (AMs) in an international 50-over competition structure that also provides a qualification pathway to the ICC Cricket World Cup. This pathway has two components:

1. The Pepsi ICC World Cricket League Divisions
2. The Pepsi ICC World Cricket League Championship (WCL Championship)

The WCL Championship features the eight leading Associate and Affiliate teams – Afghanistan, Canada, Ireland, Kenya, Namibia, Netherlands, Scotland and the UAE. The top two teams from the WCL Championship will automatically join the ICC’s 10 Full Members at the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015.

The bottom six teams of the WCL Championship will receive a second qualifying opportunity by competing in the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier in early 2014 in New Zealand, alongside the top two teams from WCL Division 3 in Bermuda.

This 10-team qualifying event also features Hong Kong and Papua New Guinea, who finished third and fourth in WCL Division 2 in 2011, and will determine the final two qualifiers for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015.