Janakpur and APF Storm into Semis

Cricnepal/Kathmandu: Region number 7Janakpur and APF got into the knock out rounds as their respective group winners of the Pepsi Standard Charted One Day National Tourament, winning their respective matches today . Both teams won all of their respective group stage matches

The national tournament saw pretty strange stuffs today, APF using all 11 players as bowlers in their match against Pokhara while Janakpur’s in-form batsmen Anil Mandal sparked with the ball today picking 4 wickets.

APF vs. Pokhara

APF absolutely embarrassed Region no.8 Pokhara defeating them comprehensively by 154 runs. Batting first APF posted a massive 288 runs in 50 overs and restricted Pokhara for mere 134/9while defending to register fourth win in a row to storm into the semi finals.

APF rested captain Paras Khadka for today’s match but his absence no way to be felt as Gyanendra Malla lead from the front scoring a unblemished 109 n.o.of 133 balls. Sanjay Shrestha made fiery 83 of 58 balls while “Mr. Dependable”, Sharad Veswarkar scored his second half century of the tournament making 51 of 71 balls.

Earlier Pokhara had started well making early in roads dismissing Shubash Khakurel for 0, his second duck of the tournament and in form Praesh Lohani for 10, both batsmen getting trapped lbw off the bowling of Dipesh Khatri. The third and fourth wicket added 89 and 123 runs to take the game away from Pokhara’s clutch.

Defending a massive total, APF toyed with Pokhara line up with the bowling, Captain Gyanendra Malla making all 11 players bowl. Rijan Prajoo top scored for Pokhara with a resilient innings of 37 of 74 balls. Sanjan Regmi and Basanta Regmi bagged two wickets for APF, while Amrit Bhattarai, Sunam Gautam, Gyanendra Malla and Shubash Khakurel(yes! the wicket keeper batsmen) shared a wicket a piece. The other wicket came as a runout.

Malla was declared the player of the match for his blissful innings with bat, fruitful bowling and droll captaincy.

Janakpur  vs. Birgunj

In the other match played today at Engineering Ground  in form Region Number 7 janakpur ran over Region number 2 Birjung by 70 runs.

Batting first Janakpur riding on 94 of 120 balls by Hari Sankar Sahi, 64 of  60 balls by Raj Mohammad and 55 as extras as a result of undisciplined bowling and fielding by Birgunj bowlers posted a massive 287 in 50 overs losing 8 wickets. Avinash Karn and  Jatta Shankar Sarraf picke up two wickets for Birgunj.

In reply Birgunj could only get to 207 before getting all out in 41st over, half of their runs scored by the opener Amit Shrestha.Shrestha made 101 of 68 balls before falling to Anil mandal in the 34th over. Anil Mandal showcased his smart bowling skills picked up four vital wickets for Janakpur. Earlier Mandal had scored 38 runs in Janakpur.s innings.

Hari Sankar Sah was adjudged the player of the match

Tomorrow’s Matches:

  • Biratnagar (R1) vs Bhairahawa (R4)
  • Kathmandu (R3) vs Nepalgunj (R5)