Janakpur beat Baitadi on the last league match

Region No 7 (Janakpur) eased past Region No 6 (Baitadi) by seven wickets in the last league match of the pool A of the ongoing MG Trophy National Twenty20 Cricket Tournament here on Thursday.

Baitadi, electing to bat first, were all out for 76 runs in 15.5 overs. In reply, Janakpur met the target in 13 overs losing three wickets to remain undefeated at the top of the pool.

Pradeep Ayree scored 20 runs off 20 balls for Baitadi while Chandra Saud added 12 runs. However, rest of the Baitadi batsmen could not reach a double-digit scores.

Man-of-the-match Raj Mohammad claimed four wickets giving away 12 runs in four overs while Anil Mandal took three wickets giving away 16 runs in four overs to rattle Baitadi.

In reply, Mandal scored 26 runs off 32 balls to seal victory for Janakpur. Both the teams had already fixed their semifinal berths.

Janakpur will take on Bhairahawa in the semifinal on Friday while Baitadi will lock horns with Birgunj.

Meanwhile, Region No 1 (Biratnagar) beat Region No 3 (Kathmandu) by eight wickets in an unimportant league match of pool A.

Kathmandu were all out for 81 runs in 17.2 overs and Biratnagar met the target losing two wickets in 13.3 overs. The teams were already out of the tournament losing initial matches.