National, News

Janakpur clinch low-scoring thriller in the final of PM Cup 2015

Cricnepal/Pokhara – R-7 (Janakpur) defeated Armed Police Force (APF) by 5 runs to clinch the title of Inaugural Prime Minister Cup Women’s National cricket tournament played at Rangashala Ground, Pokhara on wednesday.

APF won the toss and invited Janakpur to bat first on a sunny day here in Pokhara. Region No. 7 (Janakpur) could only manage to score mere 45 runs and were bundled out in 17.3 overs. Saraswoti Chaudhary top scored with 12 runs (17 balls). Karuna Bhandari picked up three wickets (2-0-3-3) while Rubina Chhetri grabbed two wickets (4-2-4-2). Likewise, R Kanojiya, Sarita Magar and Neera Rajopadhyay managed to take one wicket each.

An easy win for APF was on the card but a outstanding bowling performance by the Janakpur team helped them to clinch the trophy. They bundled out APF for 40 runs in 17.5 overs. None of the batters for APF were able to score into double digits. Santoshi Chaudhary grabbed three wickets (4-0-7-3) and giveaway just 7 runs while Saraswoti Chaudhary managed two wickets (4-0-7-2) to pull back an emphatic win for Janakpur. Santoshi Chaudhary won the player of match.

The winner team received cash prize of NRs. 50000 while the runner-up got NRs. 30000.

Likewise, R-9 (Dhangadhi) secured third position after they defeated R-1 (Biratnagar) by 7 wickets at the same venue. R-1 (Biratnagar) batted first and scored 71/5 in 14 overs. R-9 (Dhangadi) chased the target in 13.2 overs with the loss three wickets.

R-9 received cash prize of NRs. 20000. Anuradha Chaudhary (R-7) was awarded Player of the tournament trophy and cash prize of NRs. 10000. She scored 94 runs and took 7 wickets in the tournament. Sobha Ale (R-7) received NRs. 5000 for being the best Batswomen while Trishna Singh outlined other players to be the best bowler of the tournament and received NRs. 5000. Apsari Begam (R-1) was announced as the Emerging Player and she also received cash prize of NRs. 5000.