Janakpur lifts U-19 title

KATHMANDU, January 1:
Janakpur won the first Women’s U-19 T20 National Cricket Tournament by defeating Bhairahawa by 6 wickets here at the TU Cricket Ground today.

Winning the toss, Bhairahawa decided to bat first. With having the problem of batting collapse, Bhairahawa managed to make a low total of 66 runs with the top score of 19 runs from Pratikshya Bashyal. Indu Berma (11) and Aasna Thapa(11*) were the only other player to make a double digit figure. Saiya Gurung, Ekta Gurung, Nitu Bhandari went cheply at 4, 3 and 1 respectively. Three of the other(Aksha Gurung, Prabina Khadka and Soniya Poudel)players went out without opening their account.
Janakpur had a brilliant spell from Kabita Gautam, where she grabbed two important wickets conceding only 10 runs off her 4 overs. Santoshi Chaudhary and Mamta Chaudhary shared a wicket each.

Janakpur made a solid start with first wicket partnership of 28 runs before Anuradha Chaudhary went out for 14 off 20 balls in third ball of the sixth over. Shanti Chaudhary scored 9 while Mamta remained not out at 10 and Usha Bhujel added 17 runs off 28 deliviries that included three boundaries. Pooja Pandey(4 Wkts) holded the eyes of everyone after claiming two successfull wickets in the 14th over. Janakpur had to play 7 balls to get a finishing single.

Mamta Chaudhary from Janakpur was awarded as the player of the match. Cricnepal awarded Mamta with I love Nepali Cricket Tshirt. While, Indu Berma from Bhairahawa was also awarded with the tshirt for her best catch of the finals.
Indu(115 runs and 7 wickets) was eventually awarded as the player of the series. Similarly, Pratikshya Basyal from Bhairahawa itself who made 93 runs in her 3 innings got the award as the best batswoman. Similarly, Shilu Rijal from the host city Kathandu was adjudged as the best bowler for her 8 wickets of 5 matches.

Tanka Angbuhang, president of Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN), Vice Presidents Tarini Bikram Shah and Sriniwas Rana, General Secretary Ashok Nath Pyakuryal, members Basant Raj Satyal, Amit Bir Pandey and Kiran rana, Vice President of Region No. 3, Kathmandu Diwakar Ghale and coach of Nepal Pubudu Dassanayake gave away the prizes to the winners.

Meanwhile, Angbuhang gave Rs. 5000 cash to both winner & runner up teams.

cricnepal Staff
cricnepal Staffhttps://cricnepal.com
cricnepal Staff writes the news on National and International cricket.



- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -


- Advertisement -