Janakpur wins T20 championship

JANAKPUR: Paragon Public School from Region No 7 (Janakpur) clinched the Inter-school U-16 National Women´s Cricket Tournament on Saturday defeating Apex School from Region No 4 (Bhairahawa). Janakpur beat Bhairahawa by 56 runs in the final match played at Janakpur covered hall.

Half century from Anu Chaudhary helped Janakpur post 125 runs on board losing three wickets. Chaudhary scored 50 runs in 72 balls.

Shanti Chaudhary batted aggressively and scored 24 runs off 17 balls. Sudha Thapa was able to grab two wickets of Paragon while Babita Giri took a wicket.

Chasing the target of 126 runs, Apex could only make 59 runs in 19.3 overs. Babita Giri was the highest scorer with eight runs off 27 balls. Kritu Dahal took three wickets while Laxmi Chaudhary and Saraswoti Chaudhary shared two wickets each. Player-of-the-match Anu Chaudhary also bagged a wicket of Apex.

With a total 98 runs off 119 balls in the tournament, Shanti Chaudhary of Janakpur was awarded with the best batswoman trophy. Sudha Thapa of Bhairahawa was declared the best bowler for taking nine wickets in the tournament conceding only 49 runs.

With a total of 118 runs and six wickets in the tournament, Anu Chaudhary of Janakpur bagged the award for the player-of-the-series.

SURESH YADHAV – Republica Online