Kathmandu and Pokhara register victory

Host Region Number 3 Kathmandu and Region Number 8 Pokhara registered victories in the second day of the U-16 National Cricket Tournament on Saturday.

Kathmandu defeated Region Number 7 Janakpurdham by five wickets while Pokhara defeated Region Number 5 Nepalgunj by three wickets.

In a match played at TU Ground, Janakpurdham won the toss and managed to score 131 runs in loss of all wickets in 30.1 overs.

Sanjeet Pandey top scored 26 runs off 41 deliveries. Rabin Gupta scored 18 runs off 35 balls while Amrit Giri added 17 runs off 40 balls. 50 runs were added as extras from the side of Kathmandu.

Mohammad Shahid grabbed four wickets, Pranil Karki and Ram Krishna Jaishwal picked up two wicket each while Ajay Verma and Rajkumar Karki shared a scalp each.

In reply, Kathmandu chased the target in 31.5 overs losing only five wickets. Openers Adil Khan and Jeevan Lamsal shared a 41 runs partnership for first wicket. Man of the match Lamsal remained not out at 71 runs off 99 balls with eleven deliveries and a six. Rajkumar Karki scored 21 runs off 24 balls with four fours.

Sasibhusan Mishra picked up two wickets while Ajay Paswan, Rajeev Yadav and Rahul Thakur took wicket apiece for Janakpurdham.

In another match played at Engineering Ground, Pulchowk, Nepalgunj opted to bat first after winning the toss.

Nepalgunj put up 134 runs losing all wickets in 29.5 overs. Sanam Shrestha scored 26 runs off 33 balls with four fours. Shishir Thapa also made equal runs off 28/ deliveries with equal boundaries. Prabin Giri scored 19 runs while Abrar Ahamed added 15 runs.

Sangharsha Pudel grabbed three wickets. Sushil Kandel and Saujan BC picked up two wickets each while Rajesh Lamsal, Pankaj Darai and Niraj Pandey took a wicket each.

Pokhara on following the target of 135 runs chased the target in 25.4 balls losing seven wickets.

Aashik Shrestha top scored with 25 runs off 38 deliveries while Akash Thapa added 17 runs off 13 balls. Keshab Khatri made 15 runs, Rajesh Lamsal and Niraj Pandey added 14 runs each. Dhurba Karki added another 11 runs.

Prajwal Shahi grabbed three wickets while Akash Bista added two wickets each. Anup Neupane and Ajay Shahani also got a wicket each.

Sangharsha Poudel from Region No. 8 (Pokhara) was adjudged as the player of the match.