Kathmandu and TU Triumph

Cricnepal/Kathmandu: Kathmandy and TU have won their respective matches of  Kathmandu Senior Cricket Team selection tournemant, played yesterday at Pulchowk Engineering and TU Cricket Ground.

Kathmandu vs Lalitpur

Kathmandu defeated Lalitpur by 41 runs in the match played at Engineering Ground Pulchowk. Winning the toss and batting first  Kathmandu put up a score of 221 losing 9 wickets in the  40 overs. In reply Lalitpur were folded for mere 180 runs in 35th over.

Kathmandu started off in a ugly fashion losing Niraj Bhattarai in the first ball of second over at score of one.  Indra kamal manandhar, the centurian against Bhaktapur  came in at number 3 to join opener Rabin Joshi. Both added 83 runs for the 2nd wicket, before Indra was trapped lbw on 38 by Rajesh Pulami. Robin soon followed scoring exactly 38 of 73 balls, falling to in form Dipankar Yonjan. Monir Kumar Shrestha added a fiery 38 of 24 balls, while  Bijay Gautam and Rupesh Srivastava added 25 and 15 respectivly in the end to push the score to 221.

In reply Lalitpur could ony manage 180 runs Opener Sudhir Mahrajan got a half century, and made 53 of 69 balls before falling to Keshav Raj Panta in the twenty fifth over Rajesh Pulami scored 31 of 37 balls while the captain Prasanna Shakya made 29 of just 22 balls, before falling to man of match Prafulla Vaidya. Prafulla Vaidya ended up with three wickets in the end. Star of the last game against Nuwakot Rupesh bagged two wickets Niraj basnet got two wicket as well, including that of the dangerous Rajesh Pulami.

TU vs. Nuwakot

In the other match played today TU comprehensively defeated a weak Nuwakot side by 96 runs. Batting first TU posted 182 runs losing 9 wickets in 40 overs. In reply Nuwakot were folded for just 86 runs.TU’s Tejendra Rajbhandari picked up 5 wickets and was adjudged player of the match.

TU didn’t not start of well, losing both the openers at 15 runs. the third wicket stand between Suman Shrestha and Sunil Bhat steadied things a bit adding 86 runs,before Sunil Bhat was caught by Arif Ahmed of the bowling ot Rakesh Singh on 45. Suman Shrestha followed him a run later being stumped off the bowling of Rajesh Shrestha.Suman made 32 vital runs. the other batsmen’s came in and went cheaply and it took a 13 ball 22 from the 10 number Srijan Shubedi to push the score to 189. Arif Ahmed, Rakesh Singh and Rajesh Shrestha picked up 2 wickets each for  Nuwakot

Nuwakot started off poorly, losing the first five wickets for just 18 runs. Kausal Mishra and Sanyaj Shah added 19 of 50 balls and 14 of 44 balls and added together 48 runs. Mohit Tandukar added 11 runs of 12 balls, lalitpur bowlers for Nuwakot batsmen as none other batsmen got to the double digits. 4 of the 10 wickets lost were not even able to get off the mark. Eentually TU won by 96 runs.

Kathmandu is in the top the points table with 6 points, winning all three of its matches TU had 2 wins, and placed 2nd on the list while, Lalitpur has 2 points while the other two teams haven’t won a single game thus lack any points.

Today’s matches

Bhaktapur vs. TU

Lalitpur vs Nuwakot