Kathmandu lifts title

Kathmandu defeated Lalitpur by seven wickets to clinch the title of the Wai Wai U-19 Regional Sleection Cricket Tournament of Reion Number III, Kathmandu on Friday at Tribhuwan University Ground.

Lalitpur posted a moderate total of 166 runs in the alloted 30 overs losing five wickets.

Ujwal Thapa top scored with 70 runs off 63 balls that included seven fours while Pawan Shrestha remained not out at 33 runs off 27 balls including two fours and a six. Sharad Khadka who shared a 97 runs partnership with Thapa scored 33 runs off 71 balls including a four.

In Kathmandu’s bowling, Bijay Gautam took two wickets from 6 overs conceding 21 runs while Sunam Gautam and Jagat Chhetri picked up a wicket each.

In reply, Kathmandu chased the target easily in 25.2 overs with seven wickets remaining in hand. Robin Joshi hammered Lalitpur’s bowlers with 51 runs off 38 balls including five fours and two sixes. Joshi remained unbeaten while Bijay Gautam also remaine not out at 17 runs off 23 deliveries including two fours. Indra Kamal Manandhar added 40 runs off 53 balls with four fours and shared a 56 runs partnership with Sunam Gautam who was bowled for 39 runs off 28 balls, six of which went for four.

Dipendra Shah, Ujwal Thapa and Sanjay Shah picked up a wicket each for Lalitpur.

Robin Joshi from Kathmandu was adjudged as player of the final match. Ayush Jung Rana from Kathmandu bagged away the best batsman award while the best bowler was awarded to Rajesh Shrestha from Nuwakot. Rana scored 106 runs facing 121 balls in his three innings while Shrestha picked up 10 wickets from 11.5 overs bowled conceding 57 runs.

Sharad Khadka from Lalitpur was given away the prize of the player of the series for his 133 runs off 4 matches and 8 wickets from 12 overs bowled.

Prizes were given by Guest Sriniwas Rana (Vice President of CAN), Kiran Rana (Member of CAN), Diwakar Ghale (Member of CAN), Sunil Amatya (Member of CAN), Amit Bir Pandey (Member of CAN) and Vinay Kumar Jha (National Umpire).

The team squad from Region Number III is still to be announced. The players selected from this tournament will participate in the national tournament that is to begin in Kathmandu from Sunday.

cricnepal Staff
cricnepal Staffhttps://cricnepal.com
cricnepal Staff writes the news on National and International cricket.



- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -


- Advertisement -