Kathmandu register first victory; Birgunj win two of two

Kathmandu/Cricnepal: Region Number II Birgunj and Region Number III Kathmandu registered victories in the second day of the Wai Wai Under 19 National Cricket Tournament here today.

At the Tribhuwan University Ground, Birgunj defeated Region Number VIII Pokhara by 83 runs, to record the second straight win. While at Engineering College Ground, Pulchowk Kathmandu registered the first win defeating Region Number I Biratnagar in a exciting finish by just 6 runs.

Pokhara were invited on field after Birgunj won the toss. Five wickets haul from Sunil Kandel, four wickets from Govinda Pradhan and a wicket from Padam Thapa helped Pokhara restrict Birgunj to a low total of 133 runs in just 23.1 overs in loss of all wickets.

Kandel bowled two maidens before conceding just 22 runs off his eight overs. Pradhan conceded 44 runs for 6.1 overs bowled.

Hasim Ansari was the best contributor for Birgunj with 48 runs in 29 balls hitting eight fours. Ansari shared a 60 runs opening partnership with Bijay Ghalan. Shiva Tandukar added 28 runs on board from 20 balls hitting six fours. Birgunj lost the wickets at quick intervals and had to satisfy with a low 133. Bibek Dali scored 14 runs while Aakib Ansari added 13 runs, while none of the other batsman entered the double digit score.

In reply, brilliant piece of bowling from the man of the match Bibek Dali, helped Birgunj to restrict Pokhara to 50 runs in 24.2 overs. Aakib Ansari grabbed three wickets while Hasim Ansari and Jatta Shankar Sharraf picked up a wicket each.

For Pokhara, Sagar Bhattarai scored 12 runs while Anil Gurung added 10. None of the other batsman could manage to make a double figure.

At Pulchowk, Kathmandu were all out in the score of 137 runs in 40.2 overs, as they chose to bat.

Indra Kamal Manandhar top scored with 42 runs off 72 balls that included four fours and a six. Sharad Khadka made 21 runs off 28 balls including four fours while Bijay Gautam and Robin Joshi added 16 runs each. Ayush Jung Rana added another 13 runs.

Jugal Kishore Chaudhary picked up four wickets while Hari Chaulagai, Amit Dahal and Siddhant Lohani took two wickets each for Biratnagar.

In reply, Biratnagar managed to score only 131 runs, just seven runs less off the target.

Siddhant Lohani scored 23 runs off 43 balls that included a four. Suman Shrestha opened with 15 runs off 49 balls including a four while Kamal Kishore Premi and Amal Das managed to score 14 and 11 runs recpectively for Biratnagar.

In holding Biratnagar to 131, Ujwal Thapa grabbed three wickets while Prajesh Bahadur Singh, Bijay Gautam and Sharad Khadka picked up two wickets each for Kathmandu. Man of the match Indra Kamal Manandhar picked up the next wicket.

With the second straight win, Birgunj lead the group table with four points while Biratnagar stands second due to better run rate. Kathmandu and Biratnagar have two points each while Pokhara is still pointless.

On Tuesday, the last day of the group B matches, Birgunj will play Biratnagar in TU Ground and Kathmandu will meet Pokhara in Engineering College Ground, Pulchowk.