KU and KUMS enter into the final of KU Cup T-20

Kathmandu/Cricnepal: Kathmandu University Central College and Kathmandu University School of Science (KUMS) entered into the final of the first KU Cup T-20 Cricket Tournament after the respective victories today at KU Ground, Dhulikhel.

In an exciting second semi final of the day, KUMS made a one run victory over Nepal College of Management (NCM). Winning the toss, KUMS scored 145/7 in 20 overs with two half centuries coming from Raj Kumar Yadav and Ashutosh Kafle respectively. Player of the match Yadav scored 53 off 39 balls with eight boundaries and a six while Kafle made 50 off 44 deliveries with seven going for four and a six. Amit Singh also contributed 20 runs in KUMS inning. Suresh Khatri claimed two as Ashish Ghimire and Bishal Shrestha picked up a wicket each for NCM.

NCM, in reply felt one run short off the score posted by KUMS. Beside, Dinesh Barakoti and Suresh Khatri who scored 33 each and Pankaj Neupane who added 20 runs, none other made a good score thus had to lose by a run. Hitesh Joshi got three wickets, Niroj Jung Thapa picked up two and Amit Singh claimed one for KUMS.

Earlier, in the first semi final, KU Central College defeated Kathmandu College of Management (KCM) by 84 runs. Invited to bat first, KU posted a good toal of 196 runs after man of the match Pragyesh Dhungel hammered 90 off 57 balls with seventeen fours while Krishna Bista and Ravi Kiran Yadav added 42 and 18 runs respectively. Ginjan Poudel and Pratik Lalwani picked up a wicket each for KCM.

In reply, KCM was bundled for 112 runs. Raunak Pandey remained the pick of the bowlers as he grabbed four wickets while Pragyesh Dhungel picked up two. Umesh Badu got a single wicket.

The final match will be played tomorrow at KU Ground, Dhulikhel.