Lalitpur and Bhaktapur Win

Cricnepal/Kathmandu: Lalitpur and Bhaktapur have registered wins in their respective matches of Kathmandu Senior Team Selection Tournament being held in TU and Engineering Grounds.

Lalitpur vs Nuwakot

Lalitpur thrashed a weak Nuwakot side by massive 278 runs in the match played at  Engineering ground. Batting first Lalitpur posted an improbable 357 runs in 40 overs losing 7 wickets. In reply Nuwakot were folded for just 79 runs.

Winning the toss Lalitypur chose to bat first, and got off to a flyer and kept scoring runs all the way, 3 of their batsment getting 50s with strike rate of better than run a ball,  and two other got high fourties. .  Opener Prasanna Shakya made 57 of just 32 balls before falling to Jaya mandal when the socre was 87. The other opener made 67 of 55 balls and got out Rajesh Shrestha when the score was 148. Memebr of U-19 Cricket team Rajesh Pulami made 54 of just 30 balls. Sujan Mahrajan made contributed with 47 of 55 balls before getting out as ‘hit wicket’. Pawan Shrestha made 46 of just 25 balls to rocket the score to 378. Rajesh Shrestha picked up 3 wickets for Nuwakot.

The batting flunked once again for Nuwakot as none of the batsmen got to double digits. Bipin Thapa took 4 of the easy Nuwakot wickets while Sabin Shrestha chipped in with 2. In form Dipankar Yonjan was amongst the wickets again picking 2 wickets as Nuwakot were knocked over in just 17th over.

Prasanna was adjudged the player of the match.

TU vs. Bhaktapur

In the other match played today at TU Ground, Bhaktapur defeated TU in a very close gameby just a wicket. Batting first TU posted 178 runs in 40 voers losing 9 wickets. In reply Bhaktapur got to the target in first ball of 39th over losing 9 wickets.


TU’s batting was seemed quite rusty in the as none of the batsmen crossed 30. Srijan Subedi made 26 of 32 balls and Raish Bahara made 20 of just 12 balls to put a competitive total on the board. Bhaktapur’s bowlers gifted 54 runs to TU as extras, 50 of the coming as wides. Apurba Ojha picked up four wickets for Bhaktapur.

In reply Bhaktapurstarted off well, the opening stand between Abhaya Poudel and Sanjay Basnet added up vital 20 runs before Abhaya fell to Promod Basnet.  Jeewan lamsal joined Sanjay at the crease and the pair added 53 runs for the 2nd wicket.sudeed Sharma broke the partnership getting Sanjay for 29 of 29 balls when the score was 73 Tu came back into the game taking two more very quick wickets, Praveen Joshi and Rajan Kari gone for ducks just a run later. Lamsal and Purusottam Jha aadded 47 runs for the 6th wickets before Jha was out bowled of Sudeep Sharma for 13 runs Apurba Ojha added 13 runs of 21 balls and in partnership of 21 rusn with Lamsal.Lamsal went on to make a half century, scoring 52 runs of 78 balls before falling to Promod at score of 146 for 7.  After losing Himansu Dutta for 6 and Prakash Bista of naught, things looked pretty gloom for Bhakatapur.

Nafiz Sheikh, number 9 added 17 runs of 28 balls and remained unbeaten to guide Bhaktapur to victory. Number 11 Ram Krishna Jiswal contributed three as the last pair added 12 runs to get Bhaktapur home.

Sudeep shrama picked 4 wickets for TU. Apurba Ojha was declared the man of the match for his all round performance.