National, Nepal Women

Mamta and Anuradha steer Janakpur to U-19 Crown

U19 Womens Cricket champion 2071

Kathmandu- All round performance from Mamata Chaudhary and Anuradha Chaudhary helped Region no. 7 Janakpur beat defending champions Region No.1 Biratnagnar in the final of the Wai Wai Womens’ National Cricket Tournament played today at Tribhuwan University Cricket Ground, to Janakpur its second Womenn’s U-19 Title. It had previously won the tournament in 2012.

Winning the toss and batting first Janakpur lost Shanti Chaudhary for a duck in the second ball. Then Mamta and Anuradha added 97 runs for the second wicket to lay the winnig foundation for Janakpur. Anuradha was eventually out for 33 off 55 balls.

Mamta on the other had went on to make a half century smaking 8 fours in her match winning innings of 55 runs. A brisk 23 off 12 balls from Sarswati chaudhary took Janakpur to 131 runs in 20 overs.

In reply Biratnagar were restriced for 104 runs. Sangita Rai top scored for Biratnagar with 32 from 40 balls with 2 fours. Roma Thapa made unnbeaten 24. The rest failed to reach double figures.

Saraswati Chaudhary starred with the ball giving just 8 runs from her 4 overs gettin a wicket. Mamata and Anurdaha bagged a wicket each giving 22 and 17 runs form their overs respectively. Aarati Chaundhary got two scalps from her 4.

Mamata Chaudhary was awarded the player of the match for her all round show.

With the win Janankpur also bagged a cash prize of Rs. 25,000. Mamata Chaudhary got Rs. 5000 for her player of the match.
Other Awards:
Player of the tournament:  Mamta Chaudhary, Janakpur
Bats Women of the tournament:  Bindu Rawal, Baitadi
Best Bowler of the tournament:  Rekha BC, Nepalgunj

Player of the tournament was awarded Rs. 10000 cash while best bats women and best bowler got Rs. 5 thousand each.

The ceremony was held in prescence of chief guest Yubaraj Lama, CAN CEO Bhawana Ghimere and delegates from Wai Wai- the tournament sponsors.